We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexsi Bocu

Mexsi Bocu
Durango 359 | Entre Calle Acapulco Y Calle Tampico, Mexico City, Mexico
+52 55 3099 4920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 2,005 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: French, Mexican, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I start with a delicious Mezcal. We tried the duck tacos which are fantastic. The crispy octopus worths a lot, but ask for a sauce, because without it is a little dry. We try also tuna but couscous came cold. The fish in a bread is too good. They made their own bread and is also very good. Dessert is not a fantastic thing, I tried a lemon tart but is not special. Waiters are very kind. My expresso coffee was very light and warm and when I tell them they bring me another very well made.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice, elegant and kitsch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This restaurant is located in the Roma Neighborhood, which is going through a rebirth process. Ambience is great, you can see some politicians or local media stars hanging around in a really intimate environment. Service: 3 out of 5, even though the staff is friendly they are obsessed with taking your dishes away, which may be really annoying (it was friday 1 am and the place was still full). Food, an interesting fusion of very very French with extreme Mexican produces dishes full of flavor and magic. From the bar you can pic crazy drinks such as the Taco al Pastor Martini made out of vodka, pineapple and cilantro... It's worth a try...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“High expectations are met”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Only goodness can be created with the fusion of the world's best heritage cuisines. Make sure you try the outstanding cocktails made with the freshest ingredients and don't be afraid by the combination with chilies as they are very well balanced. I personally recommend the roasted tomato soup with goat cheese and the perfectly seared tuna with cilantro pesto a dry fruits couscous. The entrecôte is also flawlessly cooked, tender and tasty, plus its served with a square of butter on top that melts while you work through the meat. Regarding dessert, the apple tart wast very humble, but the Belgian chocolate fondant with dulce de leche center and the lavender - chamomile tea was a splendid ending to the meal. All in all, food, drinks, service, atmosphere and décor create an enjoyable experience for any occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth Going for a Bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This place is very convenient for those staying in the hotel sector of Polanco. It is located right across from the W Hotel and JW Marriott.
Before this restaurant, there was a popular Irish Pub. This place is certainly a step up. Someone put a lot of $$ in renovations.
The food is very good...I had the crab ravioli as an appetizer (perfect), and NY Strip with fries as a main course. The steak was ok...the fries a bit salty. Nevertheless I would go back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“GREAT and easy "walk to" restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Our family met in Mexico City for the first time a few weeks ago. Our first meal was at Mexsi Bocu! Great because it was walking distance from our hotel! Not only is the name very unique but the food was great as well as the service and location! The wait staff were very friendly and recommended items on the menu that were their favorites! Loved the cosmopolitan feel! We will go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexsi Bocu also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mexsi Bocu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexsi Bocu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.