We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Going for a Bite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexsi Bocu

Mexsi Bocu
Durango 359 | Entre Calle Acapulco Y Calle Tampico, Mexico City, Mexico
+52 55 3099 4920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #238 of 1,806 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: French, Mexican, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth Going for a Bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This place is very convenient for those staying in the hotel sector of Polanco. It is located right across from the W Hotel and JW Marriott.
Before this restaurant, there was a popular Irish Pub. This place is certainly a step up. Someone put a lot of $$ in renovations.
The food is very good...I had the crab ravioli as an appetizer (perfect), and NY Strip with fries as a main course. The steak was ok...the fries a bit salty. Nevertheless I would go back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GREAT and easy "walk to" restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Our family met in Mexico City for the first time a few weeks ago. Our first meal was at Mexsi Bocu! Great because it was walking distance from our hotel! Not only is the name very unique but the food was great as well as the service and location! The wait staff were very friendly and recommended items on the menu that were their favorites! Loved the cosmopolitan feel! We will go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quite charming!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is, without doubt, one of the nicest locales in Mexico City. The veranda is the highlight, as well as excellent service and wine choices.
The menu has plenty of options, mixing different flavors. My choice wasn't extraordinary, fish fillet with avocado leaves and oil, but the appetizers were very tasty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great starters, mains a bit bland…”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Really enjoyed the environment, and the service was great. Lots of good interior ideas. Starters were really good, we had the mixed tostadas. Mains were a bit bland. My friend had the fish baked in bread, which actually was fish. Baked in bread. Couldn't complain about that, but it did come out a bit bland. I had the crab ravioli, which was overpoweringly salty.
Deserts was creme brûlée, in three flavours. But actually I couldn't distinguish between them other than by colour because it was just sugar, more sugar, and lots of sugar flavours.
Good service and environment, okay price, just wished the food was a fraction better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice mexican french style restaurant ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This place is very very good for a nice romantic dinner. Lovely place and great food. The attention is great. Nice option to go to a new place in the core of the Roma.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexsi Bocu also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mexsi Bocu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexsi Bocu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.