We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great starters, mains a bit bland…” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexsi Bocu

Mexsi Bocu
Street Durango 359 | Between Street Acapulco and Street Tampico, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
+52 55 3099 4920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #380 of 2,309 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mexican, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fusion food mexican-French
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great starters, mains a bit bland…”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Really enjoyed the environment, and the service was great. Lots of good interior ideas. Starters were really good, we had the mixed tostadas. Mains were a bit bland. My friend had the fish baked in bread, which actually was fish. Baked in bread. Couldn't complain about that, but it did come out a bit bland. I had the crab ravioli, which was overpoweringly salty.
Deserts was creme brûlée, in three flavours. But actually I couldn't distinguish between them other than by colour because it was just sugar, more sugar, and lots of sugar flavours.
Good service and environment, okay price, just wished the food was a fraction better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    42
    18
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice mexican french style restaurant ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This place is very very good for a nice romantic dinner. Lovely place and great food. The attention is great. Nice option to go to a new place in the core of the Roma.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“My best memory of Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had the raw tuna tostadas, beef tenderloin and lava cake with ice cream, accompanied by a chateau timberlay merlot. This could possibly have been the best meal I have ever had - as a complete meal. The ambiance was also perfect - french bistro decor in the heart of mexico. The name says it all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Mexican bistro with fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

In the heart of the Condesa with a sophisticated atmosphere. Tried the duck the stake and then the roasted tomatoe soup - all very good! Came during the day but would likely be back for dinner, maybe in the outdside patio if it nice weather.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Restaurant - Awesome Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stumbled upon this little gem while looking for a different restaurant in the area (it was closed), and were so happy we did. The service was that of a five star restaurant and the food was incredible. The only disappointment I had was in the French Soup - it was a little bland. My boyfriend got the french dip and corn chowder soup (he loved both!) and I got the veggie salad (very good) in addition to the soup. We definitely enjoyed the bread, maybe a little too much, then ordered the creme brulee for dessert (AMAZING, especially the pistachio flavor). For all the food you get, the prices cannot be beat! Would definitely come back here again and recommend this place to friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexsi Bocu also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mexsi Bocu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexsi Bocu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.