We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want Argentina beef this is the place to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gotan Restaurante Argentino

Gotan Restaurante Argentino
Pedro Baranda 17 | Col. Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
+52 55 5535 2136
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2,010 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Argentinean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Timetable. Monday to Friday 1 pm to 9.30. Saturday from 2 pm to 10.00 Pm No card
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“If you want Argentina beef this is the place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great service, fun atmosphere, excellent beef cooked to perfection. Worth the effort to find the place - it is a little hard and the taxi drivers that we used didn't know where it is or the street name. Give the taxi driver a map.
It is a definite go back to place when we want a good steak cooked to perfection.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    63
    18
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We found this place via Tripadvisor and had a lovely dinner here. The staff was friendly and passionate about the food. The food was delicious. Service was not very fast, but we did got a free starter, which was great. The food is not cheap (think 15-20 euros for steaks) but for the quality you get it's ok. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The food here is the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The food here is beyond amazing.
The staff are helpful if your Spanish is lacking and you need a hand
The iPad with photos really helps.

I had such a great meal here :D

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Overrated, don't waste your time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This place is so massively overrated it boggles the mind. Yes they have high quality meat but they don't know how to prepare it or, apparently, anything about service.

First of all, the waitress speaks some english and was overall quite annoying. We waited for ages for her to explain the selection of beef cuts and she barely offered any at all (I did not hold this against her since I would think it is may fault for not speaking spanish), anyway afterwards she scolded my girlfriend for ordering Gnocchi with pesto and explained that this is not the right combination, needless to say that this is quite a common combination in Italy.

Secondly, if a couple orders food which is very easy and fast to prepare (Gnocchi with tomato sauce and a medium rare steak) why would you bring that 20 min apart? And not see the problem with that?

Finally, the food. I ordered a cut similar to ribeye cooked medium rare and what I got was closer to well done than medium, it was on the grill too long from one side (you could see that one side was very dry, the other was somewhere between medium and well done), there was also way too much salt on it almost ruining an otherwise high quality cut of meat. The tomato sauce that came with the gnocchi was very sweet, probably had tons of sugar added, this was more american style than anything you would ever get in a decent Italian restaurant.

Bottom line here is that I have no idea how these other reviews can be so positive, maybe if you never had a properly prepared steak or italian food? I could attribute one of the many mistakes outlined above to a bad day, but in combination this looks more like incompetence. While the food was nowhere near what the rave reviews here suggest it was not that bad either, average I would say, the lousy service cost them another point.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cousy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

It's a really nice place to have a very delicious meal!! The owners are adorable. Empanadas are amazing!! And desert!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotan Restaurante Argentino also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gotan Restaurante Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gotan Restaurante Argentino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.