We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gotan Restaurante Argentino

Gotan Restaurante Argentino
Pedro Baranda 17 | Col. Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
+52 55 5535 2136
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2,282 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Italian, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Timetable. Monday to Friday 1 pm to 9.30. Saturday from 2 pm to 10.00 Pm No card
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I travel the world and this place has such a nice family feel yet some incredible cuisine! Run by an older husband/wife team, they truly understand hospitality and showcase the best of it! I'm going back this week again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    88
    29
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bassingbourn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service at good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

If in Mexico City this restaurant is an essential visit. Compact, very clean and extremely welcoming, it offers super Uruguayan sourced beef cooked with Argentinian and Italian influences. Everything is well explained and lovingly cooked. Prices are very reasonable and the Argentinian red wines are lovely. Our group enjoyed the experience so much we returned for another meal the next day. Well recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Gotan is a little gem of a restaurant. Family run by an Argentinian lady and her Mexican husband they serve fine meat sourced from Uruguay and cooked over charcoal on the grill. The lady was able to explain the menu in English and illustrated the choices with pictures on a tablet computer. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff contributed to a fine dining experience at incredible value for money. It was so good, we have booked to go back to eat a particular choice which has to be booked in advance as it takes 2 to 3 hours to prepare.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Takes pride in food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place is an absolute must! Despite being located on a small somewhat dark side street, the restaurant interior is bright and well kept, very clean, and the entire staff very welcoming. The owner blends flavors from Argentina and Italy flawlessly with grace and pride. She gave a visual demonstration of her menu and explained the family history of her recipes. We had the bistec de chorizo and the beef loin with pasta potatoes and salad. The meat is tender, cooked perfectly to order and juicy. Potatoes and pasta perfectly seasoned and a salad dressing to die for. The meal also began with sweet bread and homemade chimmichurri, and we had an order of the classic Argentinian empanadas which were packed with succulent beef chiles and spices.

You will not be disappointed the five star rating on trip advisor is well deserved. Finish the meal with an Italian style cheesecake with lemon twist.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Unbelievable Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My Girlfriend and I were coming back from a run and chanced upon GoTan an hour or so before the popular dinner hour. Having traveled in Argentina a bit myself and my girlfriend having lived in Mandoza as a student - we were compelled to see more of the little Argentinian restaurant. We could not have been more pleased. Despite our work-out attire, we were encouraged to sit down, where-upon the owner came forward to greet us herself. She showed us a virtual menu (via tablet) that she explained to us in detail along with our remembrances of the country - the food we were served proved just as visually pleasing as pictured. The chance happening turned into a unbelievable night of authentic Argentinian cuisine, good conversation, laughs and nostalgia. Having been in Mexico City now for about a one month stretch we still regard GoTan as our favorite. GoTan itself is small, but upholds a quaint and extremely personal feel. The food holds to the traditional bold flavors of Argentina, yet ascertains that provocative balance of both the subtle and definitive within each bite, intuitive of a true master chef - we left, promising to return - truly awed by the unbelievable experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotan Restaurante Argentino also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gotan Restaurante Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gotan Restaurante Argentino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.