We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Atlixco 132 | Col. Hipódromo Condesa, Mexico City 06170, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Situated in the Condesa neighborhood, the "new SOHO" of Mexico City. Perfect service. Great food. Safe walking area with dozens of restaurants.
Beds very comfortable, all very clean.

Room Tip: It's a big city, so facing the street will always have some noise. We had a junior suite, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika T, Director de Recepción at Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your time and wonderful comments, our commitment is to provide you the best service and facilities so that you can enjoy a memorable stay.

We really hope you had a pleasant experience and we would love to assist you again in the near future.

Best wishes!

Erika Tut
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
33
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent a couple of weeks before arriving at the Maria Condessa in home stays and substandard hotels in Cuba. The MC was such a breath of fresh air. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed by the night manager who spoke impeccable English and was very friendly. She showed us to the wrong room initially, but all was forgotten when she brought us to the 4th floor room (401). The room was amazing! Clean, luxurious, complementary mini bar and an amazing rain shower! The bed was super comfy and the bath robes felt like our bodies were being caressed!

The area is in the Condessa district with ample cafes, bars and restaurants. The hotel cafe serves good breakfast and is probably priced along the mid to higher range side in comparison to other nearby alternatives. The hotel has a pretty funky boutique decor.

I get what other TA reviewers say about the noise. We got back to the hotel around midnight on a Thursday and it was very quiet. I found that some of the building structures in Mexico lends itself to prominent noise transmissions. We weren't particularly bothered by noise despite our room facing the street. I would definitely return to this hotel the next time I'm back in Mexico City.

Room Tip: 4th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika T, Director de Recepción at Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

It is a real pleasure for us to receive such great comments about your stay at our Hotel. We deeply appreciate all your compliments and we are hoping to see you again soon.

Best Regards!

Erika Tut
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Pros: a great and well decorated room, with comfortable beds, a good led TV, eletronic safe and a wonderful shower. Amenities are very nice. The location is the best of Condesa. The hotel is close to everything (restaurants, cafes, metro, banks...). The Front Desk Manager Erika was very friendly and attentive.

Cons: on saturday afternoon/night the hotel seems like a "sandwich of noise". A party in the terrace or the movement at the bar in downstairs can steal you rest. Cleaning lady "knock, knock, knockin" on your heaven's door every day at 10am to ask about room cleanliness is not elegant (use of the traditional paper warning to put outside of the room door would solve this). The breakfast is not included in the rates.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika T, Director de Recepción at Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

The Management and Staff Members would like to thank you for your suggestions and comments, your point of view provide us the opportunity to give you the best service, pretty close to your likes and preferences.

I have taken note of what you mentioned about noise. Also we would like to clarify that our rooms count with the "do not disturb" card which you can locate on the lock handle. This card helps us to respect your time and privacy, we are very sorry in case you did not find it at your room during your stay.

Although a full breakfast is not included, coffee break service is available in the main lobby since early morning for our guests; in there you can find coffee, tea and fresh apples to enjoy before you start your day.

Hoping that this information can be useful for you and other Tripadvisor members, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Best Regards!

Erika Tut
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Maria Condesa was lovely and very clean, in an excellent neighborhood with a very nice restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The rooms (101 and 401) were very nice, with very comfortable king-size beds, big flatscreen TV's, small couch and desk/chair, alarm clocks that hold an iPod, quiet air conditioners, and windows that open to the street. They have gorgeous large bathrooms with strong rain-shower heads. If you're sensitive to noise and go to bed before 3am on weekends, bring earplugs and make sure you get a room above the first floor. The staff was so kind and helpful and took great care of us! Really a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Lots of restaurants in the neighborhood, so best to have a higher-floor room - especially on weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika T, Director de Recepción at Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Maria Condesa Staff members deeply appreciate your excellent comments about your experience at our Hotel. The room, Restaurant menu and bar were specially created to provide you a comfortable and pleasant stay. Because of this reason, we would like to thank you for your time. Please do not hesitate to contact the Front Desk on your next trip to Mexico City, it will be a pleasure for us to assist you.

Best Wishes!
Erika Tut
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Maria Condesa is a great hotel. Nothing particularly fancy but clean, big rooms and a fabulous location. It's a short walk to a central metro station and close to everything in Condesa. It felt safe and inviting. The staff are all really helpful and friendly.

We arrived on a red-eye at 8am. I asked for an early check-in and the hotel accommodated us! Pretty fabulous of them to let us into the room at about 8:30am so we could sleep and then get up and enjoy our day in Mexico City.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor just above the lobby and got quite loud. Ask to be in a room furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika T, Director de Recepción at Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We are so glad to receive such great comments. We understand how important it is to have access to your room after a long flight or trip,because of this reason, as long as we have the availability, early check in can be provided.

Hoping to see you again soon, we would like to thank you for your preference.

Best wishes!

Erika Tut
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's not a bad hotel but I think on this site it's overrated.
I asked for a quiet room, which was confirmed at check in. However there was loud live music on the other side of the street until far past midnight.
I understand this is not the fault of the hotel, but then they can't say they gave me a quiet room. That's not serious.
There was also a pump making noise, probably for the water provision.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika T, Director de Recepción at Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Hoping you are enjoying a great time, Maria Condesa Hotel would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are very sorry if you got the impression that the information provided during the check in process was not very clear. We always try to provide the most complete information about the Hotel and the area where we are located. We also have taken note of what you mentioned about the water pump making noise and we appreciate your valuable comments that give us the opportunity to improve.

Best Regards!

Erika Tut
Front Desk Manager!

Erika Tut
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved this little hotel and have a big crush on Mexico City. The Maria Condesa staff were very welcoming and of course more than gracious about our sad Spanish skills, as all Mexicans seem to be. The hotel rooms were on the small side, but so lovely. Silk pillows, big comfortable bed, and a great shower. No troubles with wireless. They did a great job updating a older building and I really appreciate having operable windows.

The location can't be beat. We also stayed in the historic quarter on this trip. I wouldn't hesitate to get back to the leafy urban oasis that is Condesa and would stay at Maria Condesa again. Central hallway in the hotel means noise travels well throughout the hotel, but everything quiets down by about midnight. Pretty darned quiet by DF standards.

Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika T, Director de Recepción at Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments, we are very pleased to know you have had a great experience and we would love to receive you again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us in case we can do something to assist you.

Best Regards!

Erika Tut
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites

Address: Atlixco 132 | Col. Hipódromo Condesa, Mexico City 06170, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#35 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maria Condesa is the newest boutique hotel in the trendy Condesa neighbourhood of Mexico City. This modern french country inspired design hotels features accents by world renowned Mexican design house Pinedo Covalin, roof top bar and restaurante, chromotherapy spa and 5 luxurious spa suites with private sauna. Located in the heart of Condesa, the best shopping, dinning, art and theatre is just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Condesa Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.