We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but you pay for it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Padrinos Centro

Padrinos Centro
Isabel la Catolica #30 | Col. Centro, Mexico City 06000, Mexico
+52 55 5510 2409
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Padrinos Centro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #396 of 2,282 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $300 - $300
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 16 de Septiembre
Description: En el corazon de la Ciudad de Mexico se abre el concepto mas joven de Bajo de la Tintorera. Ubicado dentro de un viejo palacio virreinal y enmarcado por un imponente jardin vertical se presenta una carta fresca a base de mariscos y jugosos cortes de carne. En Padrinos continuamos con el concepto de "lugar de barrio", en esta ocasion con un gran toque de Historia, en el hermoso Centro Historico. Su amplia terraza y atractiva barra son la excusa perfecta para trasladarse al centro. Algunos platillos que representan fielmente la calidad de las del lugar son: las tostadas de atun, el ceviche, esparragos a la parrilla con queso parmesano, camarones con chipotle, oreja de elefante, etc.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good but you pay for it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The food was good at Padrino's, but it ain't cheap. They offer quite a broad menu, including Italian dishes, and have a good wine list. If you order a glass of champagne, make sure it's recently opened - mine was flat, but on request they opened a new bottle for me. And check out the fabulous hanging garden - it's well worth a photo or 5.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    35
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Very nice place for lunch or late "comida" The patio is best for daytime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Came here for a business lunch and it was very good. The ambiance is nice in the open air patio of this beautiful historic home with the large planted wall. I recommend the chicharon de atun and the shrimp and cheese appetizer, but it was not a bargain. The service is impeccable, but what is expected for this type of establishment. The crowd is a mix of business men and wealthy Mexicans.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in a very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A friend of ours recommended us this restaurant in case we would have been downtown. We were amazed how this old building has been refurbished. There are 2 restaurants, a lot of small and nice shops as well as a small boutique hotel. We have been advised to go to the Padrinos. The restaurant has few tables inside and a very very nice terrace which gives a "cosy" atmosphere. There were only Mexicans and that gave an additional value added that gave us the feeling to be in Mexico and not in a "tourist trap" place. The 4 of us had a very good lunch (both in quality and quantity) for a very reasonable price. As already mentioned, the place itself coupled with the atmosphere, the food quality and the price worth to spend couple of ours just enjoying the place which is a 5 min walk from the cathedral. Last but not least there is a very nice terrace with a bar on the last floor. Very nice experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“not the best I've been..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

leaving in Mexico, I know that this place is part of a restaurant chain: Primos, Tios, etc. etc...which are very good...
I really wanted to eat at the Azul Histórico restaurant, but it was packed. Padrinos is in the next patio of this beautifull renovated mansion... so I went. I liked how the arquitect disguissed a huge wall, covering it with plants and hanging a bike, it gives you the idea that you're looking from a tall builiding a park!
The service was good, ocassionally it felt "to friendly" for my liking; but it was prompt and accurate.
Ordered a green seafood soup..., simply delicious, and a burger without bread.(how can you go wrong with that?)... every bite, I could feel the salt grain that didn´t mix in the meat. of course, to salty for my taste.... although it had a nice dressing and a good fresh salad on the side.
maybe my table was too close from where the waiters are standing, but I could listen all their complaints and quarrels between them!... Music was nice....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Watch out...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Renovated old building in the Centro Historico. 2 restaurants, shops and a boutique hotel. Restaurant Azul (mexican food seeking its roots) was full so we chose Padrinos that in fact has a nicer atmosphere than the dark Azul. I guess the Padrinos is new and that they can improve a lot, but some basic mistakes were done. First - a dry martini served without olives even if asking for that. It took 5 minutes to get the olive, but there is quick learning as my friend arriving later got his olive in his martini.
The starters were fine - chicharon de atun and papas bravas. For main - we all had meat, none of us was satisfied. I was told i was to get a filete when ordering the Filete arriera. I did not. I ordered medium well - i got medium. I could eat half the filete - the rest was to tough to chew.
3 of us ordered a glass of red wine, the waiter recommended an own brand of the restaurant. it was a nice wine but the price was ridiculously high - 194 pesos per glass, which he did not mention when we ordered. Normally in this kind of restaurant in Mexico DF you pay 60-90 pesos per glass.
So - train the staff better, purchase better meat and i guess this nice place can be a good restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padrinos Centro also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Padrinos Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Padrinos Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.