We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stella Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Stella Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Amsterdam 141, Col. Hipodromo Condesa | Delegación Cuauhtémoc, Mexico City 06100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 95 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was such a wonderful place to stay in a great location with staff who were always helpful, especially for invaluable tips/suggestions. Initially concerned with how far the closest metro station was, it ended up being a short enough walk. Restaurants are plenty to choose from which makes for easy dinner options coming back after being out all day. There is also a grocery store with an inside atm close by in case you need to pick up anything. Staff also went above and beyond to help friend with an emergency. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
17
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just returned from a stay at Stella B&B and I am already plotting my return. This place was my ideal of a home away from home with the comfortable and homey atmosphere of a bed and breakfast yet the privacy of a boutique hotel. It was perfect. At every turn Rodrigo and staff were so very accommodating and helpful. The neighborhood provided all we could possibly need for both a relaxing and stimulating stay situated as it is on a quiet, tree-lined street across from a park with amazing restaurants close by for both the elegant and inexpensive experiences of fabulous food. I just wish I was still there........ Jane from Brooklyn

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have stayed a few days in this B&B and had a very pleasant time. The best is the morning light on a large top floor balcony, surrounded by trees. The room is clean and spacious with in-room wi-fi. My only gripe is that there's no phone in the room because I have to contact some associates in town. And it can be a bit warm during the day, with no air conditioner nor a fan. Other than that this place is perfect. I love the modest breakfast, the peacefulness, the helpful staff, the nice neighbourhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

High level of service in a unique, stylish & comfortable property located in one of Mexico City’s best neighborhoods. Rodrigo suggested a walking tour of Condesa & Roma for us, including bars & restaurants, and he also booked a hair appointment for my friend. We had a lovely stay, and were sad to return home after only 2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stella B&B IS in a nice neighborhood w/good restaurants plentiful. Rodrigo is very helpful and his English is perfect. The staff, Victoria and Sylia, couldn't have been more hospitable.
On the less than great side - our room was dark, there were electric lights but either too dim, or placed where they didn't help illuminate - including bathroom and reading in bed.
The coffee needs some work - was it instant?? It came from a machine but..... :/
Otherwise a nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for one with good lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stella B&B recommendation
A recent three-night stay at Stella B&B with my partner tallies with the nearly unanimous positive and enthusiastic endorsements previously recorded here, especially regarding the kind, helpful manager Rodrigo, who offered us all sorts of valuable tips and suggestions in fluent English. Following the recommendation of a Mexico City native, I contacted the manager Rodrigo in December and booked a room for me and my partner for late January. Then and thereafter he was attentive to every detail of our journey from airport, arrival, occupancy, and departure.
Having visited the DF several times over quite a long period and stayed in more brassy parts of the city, it was a delight to find Stella B&B nestled in an attractive, trendy neighbourhood with verdant parks and gardens, attractive architecture, and good restaurants. I therefore recommend Stella B&B unreservedly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Love this place. It is pleasant and stylish and comfortable and affordable and in a great area and has great staff and a great breakfast. Some have said it's understaffed but with Rodrigo and Victoria taking such good care of everything there's no problem. If I go back to Mexico City this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stella Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Bed & Breakfast

Address: Amsterdam 141, Col. Hipodromo Condesa | Delegación Cuauhtémoc, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella is a bed and breakfast located on Amsterdam Avenue in the Condesa neighborhood, Mexico City. The house was designed and built in 1930 by Francisco Serrano, one of the great architects of his generation, who built the Edificio Basurto and Pasaje Polanco, among other Mexico City landmarks. The house was restored in 2010, respecting the original design and period finishes.The décor at Stella mixes art deco and vintage furniture with a stunning collection of Mexican contemporary art. It is clear that each piece of furniture, lighting and artwork has been chosen carefully to complement its specific space. Stella has seven rooms, four in the main house and three in a separate guest house. The hotel uses its own water treatment plant, a rain water retrieval system and solar panels as part of our commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stella Bed & Breakfast Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.