We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayinn Barefoot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stayinn Barefoot to your Saves list
Stayinn Barefoot
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Juan Escutia 125, col. Condesa | Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06140, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Chapala, Mexico
2 reviews
“Great little hotel in an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Although it is kind of a backpackers place, it also is an excellent option if you like your own, private room. My room was spatious, with just about all the (interesting, hip) furniture you need, not too much, not too little. Very good price for this expensive neighbourhood and as said before, superfriendly, service minded staff. Good internet connection, very clean, hot water, decent beds and all together just a nice, positive atmosphere.
Rony C.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
11
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Cozy, and with a very hispter look, makes you feel welcome 24/7
Sharing room with strangers from various countries makes it even more interesting
Everything is always clean and the food from the little restaurant in the lobby is AWESOME!
reasonable price for a place in this neighborhood (expensive zone)

Room Tip: 3rd floor keeps you away from the lobbie's TV and the noise from the cars outside (although at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I can't imagine a better location to be in if it's your first time in Mexico City, and especially if you're like me and know more about time travel than you do Spanish. The initial reception and continued stay was great. The area is safe, has lots of bars/restaurants/activity in the area but isn't too overloaded with other travels.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay and I even spent a couple of nights socializing outside of the business with them.

Although it's always hit and miss, the other people staying at the time i was became good friends to have around and the overall atmosphere was great.

Thanks guys.

Room Tip: looking back, i would have got a shared room simply because i spent so little time in the room itsel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The private room was adequate for two people, but definitely on the smaller side. As other reviewers have mentioned, the bathroom is incredible tiny, and the toilet is practically inside the shower. If you are traveling with someone you aren't that intimate with, you may end up using the public restroom, or only when you are alone, as the sliding door is definitely not sound proof. The decor is really fantastic for the price of the room, with a clean, modern feel. The wifi was reliable, as was housekeeping. The roof provided a great space to wind down at the end of the night. Visitors should note that while the layout of the hostel is aesthetically pleasing, any noise whatsoever is amplified, and we experienced some late nights and early mornings at the fault of other patrons making too much noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

pros:
- great proximity to public transport, Parque Chapultepec, and the rather lovely Roma/Roma Norte area,
- hadn't really checked out prices of other hostels but $22.20 a night seemed very reasonable to me.
- wifi reached our room and was relatively fast.
- towels provided.
- room neatened and bins emptied every day.

cons:
- its right on the edge of condesa. this wasn't a problem for us, but this part of condesa is very different to the "hip, tree lined" streets everyone talks about.
-night staff did not speak english despite the hostel only ever advertising in english (a good grasp on spanish would be useful in staying here if you want to arrive after 6PM).
-staff in general not very friendly. also, had to request specific information after checking in, like what time doors were locked and how to get in if they were/what the wireless password was. have read places that breakfast is provided here but never heard in person.
-hostel very loud in the morning and very loud at night. would recommend it to people wanting to party more than sleep at night.
-private bathrooms pretty impractical, toilet pretty much in shower..
-not overly unclean but the bathrooms could do with a new coat of paint and there seemed to be hair everywhere..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The public space is great, but the private room is hella small and it's a double (not queen) bed. The "private bathroom" gave a whole new meaning to water closet, bc it's about 2.5 x 4 ft space for the toilet and shower. The water closet is right next to the bed with a loose sliding door, not good if anyone has to deuce. Also the toilet is wobbly.

Upon arrival in the evening, I asked for towels and was told to come back in a couple of hours. Then they say no towels till the morning. Seriously?

I'm quite displeased. Given the price (in comparison to other hostels) it seems you are paying for neighborhood/location. The private room is not comfortable for two people and not worth it in my opinion.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Being worried about mexico city, turning up to this place made us feel very at home and safe. The area is very modern with cafes and markets all around and the hostel itself is a botique like hostel which is very moden and has a bar and cafe attached. from one traveler to another staying at this hostel is a great choice honestly i dont write reveiws oftern but i was very impressed and the staff quickly become your friends and are so so helpful in every way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayinn Barefoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayinn Barefoot

Address: Juan Escutia 125, col. Condesa | Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06140, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayinn Barefoot 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying Barefoot is a brand new hostel in the center of the bohemian part of Mexico city. The general idea of building this place, was to show every tourist  a Mexico only few have had the opportunity of really experiencing, trying to take each and everyone of them to the center soul of Mexican life.This hostel is part of a backpacking agency that takes you to places all around south east Mexico. We call this trips "Regional trips"  well they are journeys around each of our hostels, no longer than three day ride, leaving and returning to the hostel, taking you to places you could not or would not  visit otherwise. Place you have only seen in pictures where you will live like a real Mexican would.Today we are opening this one, but we are very to close to open eight more all around Mexico.Be the first one to try the Barefoot experience.Traveling Barefoot means letting everything go to live life as free as you could be, so you can learn and grow from what you see.You can also travel all through out south east Mexico with us. For the moment we are just opening our first hostel in Mexico city, but wait at the announcement of the rest. Each one of them located in an strategic part of this country so you could visit as much as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stayinn Barefoot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayinn Barefoot Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayinn Barefoot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.