We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suprased my expectations...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maja - CLOSED

Maja
Durango 279 | Colonia Roma, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
52117972
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“suprased my expectations...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I ended up walking into Maja just by curiosity as I was walking in the Roma neighborhood, the food here is amazing, all the dishes me and my friends had were delicious, I think my favorite would be the gazpacho, suuuper fresh and tasty. While we waited for our main dishes we had an order of "pan tomate with prosciuto" and then another and i coul'dve eaten those all night, amazing. The restaurant overall has a cosy hip vibe, good spot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    13
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice contemporary twist to my fav cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the experience, service was excellent, atmosphere smart casual, portions were good too. Wine was supreme! I would only suggest to get rid of the fat of the lamb's ribs, other than that, just keep improving, I will keep going!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Maybe Tripadvisor made a mistake?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I fully agree with kalimata. I can mention several dozen restaurants in Mexico City that are better, including a dozen or more Spanish. To start I hate Valet parking that I believe should be paid by the restaurant; tipping OK. Modern decor with cement floors. Waiters attentive but still and all we waited more than 30 minutes for a glass of water. Short menu and expensive for restaurants in Mexico City. Best are the "entradas" and deserts. Mexican wine was good. Rest rooms are an invitation for an accident, specially for elder people since there are no handrails on steep and poorly illuminated areas. Would I go back? Well yes, if I am in the neighbourhood, but I will not make an extra effort to go there

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had no great expectations but it is a place to go for sure. Service is excellent, food is AMAZING! Decor of the place is cozy but yet cool and modern. They give you a small appetizer that is part of the menu with the intention you try something from the menu and to know it. Cool idea and clever thing to do. We had chuleton that is meat for 2 it was enough but was outstanding! As well we had croquetas de jamon serrano and chocolate cake. Need to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overrated on Trip Advisor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It makes it to the top 5 in the TA ratings but this restaurant is just barely OK. Nothing wrong with the food, it was bettere than OK, but the atmosphere was just dull and the place felt unloved with just 2 tables occupied. After reading reviews we expected something better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maja also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.