We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maja - CLOSED

Maja
Durango 279 | Colonia Roma, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
52117972
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Surprisingly amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had no great expectations but it is a place to go for sure. Service is excellent, food is AMAZING! Decor of the place is cozy but yet cool and modern. They give you a small appetizer that is part of the menu with the intention you try something from the menu and to know it. Cool idea and clever thing to do. We had chuleton that is meat for 2 it was enough but was outstanding! As well we had croquetas de jamon serrano and chocolate cake. Need to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    13
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
india
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Overrated on Trip Advisor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It makes it to the top 5 in the TA ratings but this restaurant is just barely OK. Nothing wrong with the food, it was bettere than OK, but the atmosphere was just dull and the place felt unloved with just 2 tables occupied. After reading reviews we expected something better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I must confess that I expected more from a restaurant rated #2 on tripadvisor out of all the restaurants in one of the world's largest cities. The margaritas were excellent and the servers were attentive. They were out of the foie gras terrine, but produced an an acceptable pan seared foie gras. Rack of lamb was uninspired, presentation sadly lacking, and I've had far better lamb in New York or Boston There's lots of potential here, but it was missing on 6/2/2013.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Polished service, gratifying food, in a crisp, neoteric atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This posh restaurant in the quaint Roma neighborhood was a great Tripadvisor find. The service was spot on, anticipating our requests and gladly providing suggestions (as well as English menus, which was appreciated!) We started the meal with the foie gras, a wonderful tasting dish that was unfortunately a bit too small for the three of us to thoroughly enjoy. In our party, we had the grilled sirloin, the fish of the day, which happened to be sea bass and mussels, and a fantastic filet with a thin coat of a cream Gruyere cheese. This last dish was enough to bring us back to the restaurant the next time we visit, but the service definitely locked it in. The only thing we were a bit disappointed with was the Mexican white wine we ordered, but that was more of a personal preference (it tasted like tequila?) than anything to do with the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Restaurtant In Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We visited MC for two weeks in May 2013. We had plenty of time to see all the sites including the awesome ruins of Teotihuacan. We rented a fabulous apartment in Zona Rosa for half the price of the Hyatt or Four Seasons. Our only regret was that we discovered Maja too late. Of all the recommended foodie heavens in MC that we tried, Maja is 15 on a scale of 1-10. The food and service is beyond fantastic. To do it over again, we would eat there every night until we exhausted the menu options. With wine it's a little pricey for MC but compared to anything in LA, SF, NYC, Chicago or NOLA it's a bargain.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maja also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.