We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and trendy, relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maja

Maja
Durango 279 | Colonia Roma, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
52117972
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 1,807 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Saint Joseph, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and trendy, relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our dinner at Maja was very delicious and the service was great. I HIGHLY recommend trying the tomato soup, shrimp, any of the steaks, and the oxtail is a MUST. I was a little skeptical at first of the oxtail, but it was one of the best meats I've ever tried! Good portions of food and easily able to share with your entire table. Very friendly and attentive staff. We enjoyed a nice relaxing evening out with great food, beverages, and nice atmosphere in the Roma neighborhood.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    13
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb Service & Exquisite Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

An enjoyable place to spend the evening drinking wine and sharing tapas. Superb service, chic atmosphere, delicious food, modern decor. We shared the Camarón Gigante, Solomillo Steak and Rabo de Buey (Oxtail), all excellent recommendations from the chef. Make sure you save room for the tarta de manzana and torrija caramelizada​. Fairly priced for the high quality of food and comparable to other Mexico City restaurants of the same category.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyable meal. I enjoyed my steak very much. And the decor is also very nice. A little on the pricey side, but it was worth it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent atmosphere and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were looking for a new and exciting dining experience and found it at Maja. Beautifully restored interior with intimate feel for our large group. Very attentive staff, menus in both Spanish and English, very unique food selections and reasonable prices! A very pleasant dining experience in the Roma neighborhood, just a few short blocks from our bed and breakfast. The owner, Artouro greeted us and made us feel so welcome. We will return every trip back to Mexico City! Thanks Maja!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent jewel in MC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Alrhough a bit upscale for my normal budget, the food and ambiance was great.

Appetizer was Oxtail in peppers with a pureed red pepper sauce.

Entree was a bbq octopus over cooked potato wedges.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Maja also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Maja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.