We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonito Pop Food

Bonito Pop Food
Nuevo Leon 103 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City, Mexico
5552114210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 2,193 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: International, Contemporary, Fusion
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

A firm favourite with my husband and I, as fairly new residents in Mexico City.

Bonito has menus both in Spanish or English which is great for those who are learning the language like us. The tapas style entrées are delicious - rib eye tacos, aqua verde shrimp and sopacitos are great to share (although they're so good you many not want too!) the mains are also a good size too and full of flavour. The frozen margaritas are divine (mango and chilli - yum!)

The restaurant has a courtyard (smoking) and inside dining, both are great but there is more atmosphere outside, with live music on certain nights in the evening. The staff are friendly and fun and can recommend their menu favourites too.

A great restaurant for families, groups of friends and couples alike. It's also fairly priced for the quality of food and service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    46
    14
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Don't know why the name POP food but it is good and muy bonito”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just recently in Mex D.F. went to CONDESA neighborhood which is now the trendy section of the city with popular restaurants. Sunday afternoon and we decided to walk into the Bonito... made the right choice. They close early on Sunday but nevertheless they quickly accomodated us. Lovely setting, staff was great and the food just plain good. Not sure why the name is Bonito Pop but it was definitely a bonita experience and will certainly return. Neighborhood is very safe and highly recommend it for lunch or early dinners....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food a great option if you have children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I had been to Bonito in the evening and everything was wonderful. Today I returned with my family and another family (total kids two boys 5 and 8 and two girls 5 and 7). This is one of the best places we have eaten with kids. First of all the kids are given a gift bag including a small puzzle, crayons, pencil, cool eraser, small toys, and a coloring book among other treats. The food for kids is real food not nuggets or pizza only. The kids menu includes pasta or chicken soup with fish, chicken or steak and a drink in a cool take away cup. There is a children's play area with babysitters. The boys played Wii and the girls made jewelry and played games. We barely heard from our kids in the close to 3 hours we were there.
There were seven adults at the table and everyone loved their food. It really was delicious.
I highly recommend this restaurant to families as we as adult only groups.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Hidalgo, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice food, ambient, service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have been to Bonito more than four times, each time it has been a solid experience.
What I like about Bonito? It has all that I want for a restaurant in the Condesa area:
-Good food, not really expensive (around $35 USD per person with a drink)
-Diverse, they have a standard menu that I already know top to bottom and a special menu that changes every season
-Atmosphere, the "patio" has really good music and people, it works for both group of friends and couples
-Drinks, they have really nice cocktails, specially the cucumber mezcal and the old fashioned
-Service, never disappointed

I would give five stars to the restaurant if all their dishes were spectacular but there are some of them that are not so good. For example the rib eye with foie gras butter is spectacular, the pizza of shrimp and pesto too but the cevices and fish are weak overall.

They could add more options and win five stars. In the end, we need more restaurants like Bonito, with a good relationship quality/price, ambient, drinks and service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

i had dinner at Bonito, and it was very good - the fish with risotto was above medium. The internal patio was very pleasant for a conversation. There are, by the way, plenty of restaurants on street where it is located.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonito Pop Food also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bonito Pop Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonito Pop Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.