We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral to your Saves list
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
San Marcos
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location, great service....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We had the 5th floor "Private King Suite" and for $50/night we couldn't be happier. the location (right off the Zocalo) was perfect for us and the view of the zocalo from our private balcony was very nice. the room was nice, the bed comfy (though there is no daily maid service). The ensuite bathrooms were clean and fine. The shower could be better, but adequate. Hot water was plentiful as was water pressure.

The service of both the front desk as well as the various employees were examplary (e.g. we got there at 6:30am and even though check in is 2pm, we got the room by 8:30am, the desk clerk also gave us suggestions for an excellent 24-hour coffee/breakfast place (Cafe Popular)). On the last day, we checked out in the morning, but we needed to rest for a few hours before our bus at night so they opened up their "TV" room for us to rest in.

One warning though....if you are seeking a quiet place to sleep (or you are light sleeper) this is not for you. Everything from Aztec dancers in the Zocalo to Pink Floyd on the bar on the roof to Savage Garden from the restaurant downstairs will keep you entertained (or disturbed depending on your PoV) until late. We actually took this atmosphere in stride and it no doubt helped that our room was on the 5th floor (though that actually made it close to the sounds from the roof).

I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced excellently located hotel (and who can sleep through some noise).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    100
    33
    16
    6
See reviews for
10
51
78
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

this is more for backpackers! if you like to move around mexico city and like the historical architecture this is the place to stay. Easy access to their subway station (Zocalo). This hostel is also very near to the place where mexico celebrated their national day in 2010. the hostel provide tour service and have a small restaurant which provide good food too. check in service is in speedy mode and hostel cathedral have the friendly and helpful staff which speak good english too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Great value, 11$ for a shared room, clean, wonderful coton bedsheets, great kitchen with wonderfull 5* terras with view of the cathedral, terras bar and breakfast which is included, great staff especially Gustavo!
Thanks to the team!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed here three nights and found the hostel to be in an excellent location. They offer trips from the hostel so we did a couple of these which were great and worth the money. We stayed in a private room which was absolutly fine, basic but clean, just don't expect a great sleep as the place is noisy until late and then early in the morning as all rooms have shutters that open in to the central stairwell that overooks the reception, restaurant and bar. There was also an excellent free breakfast of fruit, toast, cereal and yoghurt. We found the hostel to be great and would definatly recomend ths for a safe place to stay in the City,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Very clean, comfortable place with water fountains on each floor! Couldn't beat the location & price, trustworthy roommates, quiet sleep, nice kitchen and roof area, good guest-bathroom ratio, good places to read or have private time. Rooms are spacious enough. Sign up for the 6-person room and get a window right to the Zocalo! All staff are friendly and helpful. Negatives -- Some computers don't work and the Internet is down sometimes, and the "free bikes" advertised on their website are all duds. But those things are secondary. You can't beat this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I would highly recommend staying at this hostel if you are travelling through mexico city. It has a great central location so you can walk to cathedral, palace, templo mayor and other attractions. There is a great rooftop bar which (despite only serving beer!) is a good place to meet other backpackers. The free walking tours are definitely worth doing, our guide - isaac - was awesome and so we decided to also do the trip to the pyramids which is also recommended. The hostel itself was clean and friendly, maybe a little noisy but it was santa samana when we were staying. Overally great place to stay!

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucuman
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Save time, money & stress! For bargain hunters! If you are travel on a shoestring budget, then this is the place for you. I stayed there with my two teenage children during the Xmas Season 2008. Fisrt we stayed in an ensuite private room. Then we travelled to Taxco and returned to Hostel Catedral and stayed there for four nights. The second room was without a private bathroom. In fact, there is little difference in price, so - if you can afford it - pick the ensuite one. There is even one better - the suite terrace - which was already booked. Private rooms get booked very easily and quickly so make sure of making your reservation a lot of time in advance if you would like a private room.

Rooms are amazingly tiny. However, the hostel is very well placed near most of the tourist attractions (the Cathedral, the National Palace, Madero Avenue, Palacio de Bellas Artes. el Templo Mayor, etc). There are better areas in Mexico City - as Zona Rosa - but Hostel Catedral is strategically situated. It is in front of the Cathedral, half a block from the Templo Mayor, a block away from Palacio Nacional! Unbeatable location indeed!
There are supermakerts, Seven eleven stores, MC Donald's restaurants and whatever you may think of in the sorroundings.
If you are into making new friends, then this is the place! We met people from many different parts of the world!
The Cyber café is open 24/7 and the service is the best we got in Mexico. There are many PCs so you can get online whenever you need to.
Breakfast is ok: coffee, tea, milk, cereals (of two kinds), fruit (bananas and something else which varies every day), marmelade, butter, yoghurt (two flavours). Dinner however, is bad. It included cool spaghetti, cool scrambled eggs or something of the sort with lettuce salad (without any kind of dressing).
The hostel has a laundry room where you can wash your clothes at a reasonable price.
If you are a Hi Member you have a discount on the dormis, but not in the private rooms!
The hostel also offers different tours. We got a free walking tour which was great! The tour guide - Isaac - was a really nice guy who joined us for lunch where I tried Caldo Tlapleño. Try it! You won't regret!
We also bought a tour to Plaza de las 3 culturas, tha Basílica of Guadalupe and Teotihuacán for 28 U$D. It was good, but nothing out of the blue.
You can take the sightseeing bus in front of the Hostel too. It is 11 U$D per person and it has two different routes (both included in the price). You can hop on & hop off as many times as you want during the day, but there is one thing to have in mind: the trip of the two routes took us 6 hours and a half without hopping off once! Mexico DF is a hectic city and so is its traffic!
Most of the staff was nice. But just that. We met much friendlier Mexicans :)
The prices of drinks and food in the bars (there is one on the groundfloor where breakfast is served and one on the top floor where dinner is served) was ok, very similar to the ones you got outside the hostel.
The hostel has a storing room where you can leave your baggage if you are visiting another place and coming back to Mexico City. It is free of charge.
There are people of all ages (I myself was 44 when I was there with my kids) so don't worry if you are not an adolescent!
Summing up, I'd say this is a 5 star hostel! Really worthwhile if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Address: Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.