We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral to your Saves list
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
San Pedro, Belize
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Me and two girl friends stayed here for 4 nights. It is a great location right on the zocalo. It is close to the metro and many restaurants. We especially enjoyed the view from the rooftop bar during our stay. The 4 person dorm we stayed in was very very small and the wifi was terrible. Apart from this we had a great stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thanks for your comments.

Have a great trip.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    99
    33
    16
    6
See reviews for
10
51
77
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

There is no other choice for hostels in Mexico City, most others will leave you disappointed in one way or another, for example, Hostal Amigo had no windows so it was extremely hot and the staff are unsociable. Hostal 333 had spiders was filthy and had a racist manager, Hostal Regina was okay but lacked a breakfast deal, Hostal Mexico City was too had rude staff and had an unfinished terrace with a truly horrible view.

Now, if you want a fantastic hostel then Hostal Cathedral is the one for you. With friendly and brilliantly professional staff members (Restaurant and Hostel alike), fun events during the week (Barbecues, Salsa Nights, djs and more), a bar that stays open until 2 daily, a breathtaking 6th floor terrace view of the stunning historic centre, daily affordable tours, close proximity to the Zocalo and Turibus tours of the city, clean and spacious rooms, as well as a great kitchen with beautiful terrace on the 5th floor and last but not least the amazing breakfast consisting of chilaquiles, scrambled eggs, frijoles, sweet toast, normal toast, an assortment of fruit, yogurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee and a large variety of lovely tea.

This hostel was by far my favourite and I just want to thank the staff for a wonderful stay!

Will Packer

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge T, Director General at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
YEEEEAAAAAHHHHH¡¡¡¡¡

WOOOOOWWWW¡¡¡

We really appreciate your opinion.
We are glad that you have with us...

Come back anytime.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

the only thing i dislike about staying here, was the noise, you can hear EVERYTHING... but it was a good price for what it is!, great location, friendly staff, rooms are okay!!! ill stay there next time i visit Mexico's city!

Room Tip: Great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge T, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi.
Yes, when you stay with us, we had a big group also...
We apoligize for this, we try to keep it as quiet as we can...

Hopefully you will come back and check us out again, (with out that noise group)

Cheers, save travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was our 4th time at this hostel and unfortunately will be our last. Our last visit was 2 years ago and we were very much looking forward on coming back this time. This time we were very dissapointed of our stay. Mainly 'cos the best thing about the hostel for us has been the awesome and friendly staff that didn't exist anymore.. The staff didn't provide any information about the hostel or about the city itself. The breakfast that used to be very good was horible! They have super awesome idea to have fruits, eggs, french toast, fresh orange juice and chilaquiles which for a hostel standarts is awesome! But the staff providing the breakfast is more into playing with a laptop and talking with each other than making sure that the there is food. From 8 night we stayed here, just once we had warm food and fruits there. other days by 9am everything was finished and when u asked from the staff if u could still have breakfast which is supposed to be until 10am you get a very unfriendly answers and you might have to wait up to 20 minutes to get some food. The last day here, we wanted do make reservation for the hostel mundo joven cancun, but the recepsionist was unwilling to help us and coudn't even call to the other mundo joven hostel in cancun to check if they had space, so we ended up making a reservation to another hostel in cancun. Woudn't recommend this hostel anymore.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge T, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are really sorry to hear this...
We strongly apologize for the all incovenience that you guys had...

Usually we have really good reviews specially about our staff.
The guy that was serving breakfast during your staying its not longer with us.
(He didn´t get alonge with MJ HOSTELS STANDARS)

We talk with the recepcionist that didn´t provide you with the info and help that you required.

If you gave us the chance, stay with us again and check us out....

Save travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were a group of 7 who stayed here for 4 nights. Location was absolutely awesome, close to everything, and the metro. Breakfast was good and rooftop bar view was amazing. Free tequila night was also very cool. Staff were friendly, rooms are basic with a shared bathroom. It is noisy at night and early in the morn so take ear plugs. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge T, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks for the your comments.
Save travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is set out like a prison - all rooms are overlooking each other above the downstairs bar so zero privacy here. There are no windows just shutters and dull lighting which makes this place so depressing. It is EXTREMELY noisy from early morning til well into the small hours - a combination of the bar downstairs and the noise carrying from every room in the funnel like centre. Really I am not sure that this place could be safe if there were a fire. The guys at reception need to pick up their act too - very disinterested and arrogant attitude towards guests. The dorms are very basic and claustrophobic - the shutters (no windows) have to be left open in the night. This coupled wth lumpy pillows and mattresses are not conducive to a good night's sleep. Drunken people coming in at all hours are not checked by the miserable looking security guard. We did not feel safe in this hostel/prison cell. Avoid

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge T, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for all your comments.
Usually we have really good comments specially about our staff.

We strongly apologize about the noise, we try to keep it down after 10pm, as you know we have signs in every floor. "please keep it down after 10 pm"
(But sometimes its difficult for some guest) :)

We will love to have you back and should you how good can we be.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed in this hostel for 3 nights. The greatest advantage of this place it its location & breakfest that are served on the roof-top tarrace. The hostel is clean, but really very basic - no proper closets, there are almost no amentities eg safe box, but you can keep your valuables in the security box next to reception.
The biggest cons for us was the noise from the restaurant downstair and since the rooms have windows to inner courtyard only this was not impossible to avoid.
The staff was very helpful and nice.

If you look for simple location in good price & location then go for it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime A, General Manager at Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks a lot for your comments, they help us get better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Address: Republica de Guatemala No. 4 | Centro Historico, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Hotel Mexico City
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.