We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the Hotel Zone in Mexico City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added W Mexico City to your Saves list
W Mexico City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Best of the Hotel Zone in Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The service and staff at the W were all A-one during our short stay.
We stayed in a "fantastic suite" which included a large round bathtub in the middle of the open floor plan. Very chic and sexy room layout. The bed was amongst the most comfortable we have stayed in.
Walking distance to great restaurants and shopping in the polanco neighbourhood, and steps from Chapultepec park, Ideal location.
The only negative I have is the add-on fees for things like wifi, and gym/pool access, for the price of the rooms, these things should be included in your stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Mexico_City, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Hello there kjohnston_bc :

Welcome!!!!

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at W Mexico City.

For future visits, please note that we have complementary internet access at our living room (lobby) and the gym/pool access is also complementary for our guests.

We look forward to see you soon again at your home aWay from home!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    171
    92
    32
    19
See reviews for
32
139
35
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed at the W hotel in the Polanco neighbourhood with a few friends while in Mexico City for a football game. The accomodations were first class all the way. Not so cheap but well worth it. The services were fantastic and even though we were budget travellers in the luxurious hotel, our ever need was taken care of 24/7. This high end contemporary hotel was a great stop in a safe neighbourhood with plenty to see and d near by.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights and I loved it!!! I was here on business but I will definitely stay here next time I am in Mexico City for pleasure. Trendy fun place that focuses on the details. The service was great and they had many english speaking workers which helped me because my spanish isn't great. The bar and restaurant were AMAZING and I really enjoyed people watching in the bar on Thursday night. The gym is sufficient and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. It's also near a few restaurants and high end shoppign area. I love the W and will definitely be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
544 helpful votes 544 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

My main criteria for choosing: the W's location cannot be beat for business and entertainment in Mexico City. From there I could walk to many business meetings and client lunches/dinners.

Reception and concierge are very efficient and courteous. Rooms are spacious and smartly set up. A lot of room for storage. Yes, it is a bit dark and the view from my room was uninspiring, but I could live with it. Only complaint is the hammock: great idea, but not sure it gets washed after every guest, so could not bear myself to use it on account of the potential previous fat hairy guest sitting naked on it!!

Had a few meals at the restaurant. Breakfast menu much better than dinner. Breakfast service is not very clear: is it a buffet, is it a la carte, is it both?

Leisure facilities are a missed opportunity. Big gym, but tiny indoor swimming pool. Both saunas were turned off when I visited, so had to wait for the correct temperature. Spa was really great, had a very relaxing massage.

Most irritating point: as with every Starwood property, internet is not free, and actually very expensive. They have a very nice business centre but I'd rather be able to check my e-mail quickly in my room without having to pay so much.

Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed recently at the W for five nights with my partner and have a mixed opinion. As a SPG Platinum guest we were upgraded to one of the Loft rooms on the top floor with a balcony and large floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city. Beautiful view and the room was nice, though the downstairs sitting and work area is a bit small. Enjoyed the usual W amenities.

But, in our first room the safe, the TV speakers, the printer and none of the telephones worked. So, we waited for a maintenance employee for a while, who eventually suggested to move us to another room. We agreed, and later received a tray with fingerfood and a bottle of Tequila accompanied by a letter from management apologizing for the inconvenience - greatly appreciate the gesture and apology accepted.

But, even though we asked for the second room to be inspected, many things did not work again. The TV speakers were broken and we needed to get them fixed, the balcony door did not close properly and someone had to repair it. The printer/scanner/fax did not work as someone had installed the wrong cartridges - we received the right ones, but I could not figure out how to get the old ones out and no one installed the new ones, so we had to use the business center all the time. And the iPod dock/speakers upstairs did not work properly either.
Also, during the summer storms and rains it gets windy, and the balcony door does not withstand these winds. It bends inwards and creates a gap between the frame and door letting wind and sometimes even rain in. Not great quality.
Additionally, we had to remind someone to refill our minibar with water on three occasions.

We also had a massage at the Away Spa, which was wonderful. The therapists were amazing and all our stress gone in an instant. Also, we could use a very nice jacuzzi, steamroom and sauna. Great facility!

Some criticism about the service, especially at the restaurant: When we showed up for breakfast twice no staff was to be seen anywhere and we had to fetch them from the kitchen to be seated. The waiter treated us with utmost respect afterwards, but this is unnecessary! The food itself at breakfast is at most average quality and in the US I would have sent the Eggs Benedict back.

At checkout I was very impressed by Diana who listened to all the things that went wrong, apologized and suggested a way to make up for the shortcomings, which we accepted. Greatly appreciate her service-mindedness and customer-orientation and for just listening to the problems.

Overall, I expect more from a 4.5 star hotel that charges $250 and more per night and it should not be necessary to experience so many shortcomings in the rooms and service. The W prides itself to be a hip top-end hotel in Mexico City and they should offer service that matches that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

The place is trendy and comfortable, we went there because the Lonely planet guide on Mexico recommend it and added the icon that kids were welcome. The lobby and restaurant are like night clubs, music is loud and light is weak. it is perfect place for singles or childless couples. NOT for families, even the restaurant has no suitable options for kids, the pool is not a pool but a big relaxation tub where we took our baby and employee Efrén Anaya ask us to leave because she was too loud... an 18 month baby!!!!. I felt uncomfortable all the time and don't recommend it for families.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

W Mexico City was great. Good mix of attentive service and fun amenities. Nice, big rooms; good spa; restaurant was ok - though there are numerous excellent options very close by, eg Biko and Izote. Concierge was really helpful too. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#19 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#32 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.