We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the heart of Mexico City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added W Mexico City to your Saves list
W Mexico City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great stay in the heart of Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Our first impression when we walked through the doors of the hotel couldn’t have been better. The concierge, a front desk attendant, as well as a gentleman from the valet staff all welcomed us with open arms. We arrived a bit before our check-in time and to no fault of their own they still arranged a complimentary package for us at the restaurant, Solea, to make our wait a bit more pleasurable.

After a not-so-great flight with an extremely early departure time we were exhausted, and all we wanted to do was relax. The hotel made sure that we were comfortable and had followed up with food, drinks, etc. to make up for the morning of hectic travel. After enjoying our welcome package, we revisited our friends at the check-in desk to go to our rooms. We chatted a bit with the concierge, who proved to be a great asset for us later in the trip, and then were led up to our rooms.

The rooms were not only beautiful and incredibly clean, but they gave my crew and I a corner of the hotel where our rooms were connected. It wasn’t a normal door that connected the rooms together, but the rooms shared their own private hallway, which was perfect for the way in which we like to collaborate on projects. And, to make our lives even better while on the road they had included wifi service for both of our rooms.

We became very close with the concierge staff and were able to plan our weekend with ease. We had them plan excursions for us ranging from Lucha Libre fights and guided tours of the pyramids to getting reservations at the most exclusive night life destinations in the city.

We were given the royal treatment in a city that we were told not to go to --- let's just say we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large, sunny, and share a private area between one other room that can be locked a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear MichaelR,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.
We are truly glad to hear you have an amaze experience with us, this kind of reviews make us proud of what we do and it is an incentive for us to keep providing the best service at W Mexico City.

We look forward to seeing you again really soon.

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    178
    98
    35
    20
See reviews for
33
140
35
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This W Hotel is similar to every other W that I have stayed in but with a Mexican twist: mexican ornaments in the lobby area, and great mexican food.
It has an excellent location in Polanco near great restaurants and shops. You can actually walk to them at day or night!
Our room had an extraordinary view of the city. Two comfortable double beds and a nice round tub with an hammock above it and a well lit bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello MaytePrida,

We are so happy you enjoyed your room as well the food and the decoration of our newly renovated Living Bar.
We hope you can visit us again in the near future and let us to pamper you in a Mexican style!

Warm regards,

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Situated in Polanco, it is near to all good restaurants in town. The hotel is very trendy but can be quite noisy. The rooms are a bit worn out. Spa is great. And the main lounge/bar area have just been renovated. But for business travelers the JW Marriot next door can be a better option depending on the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello Paul_Ossamu,

Thank you for your comments; we hope you can visit us once the renovation of the rooms is finished so you can give us the feedback about our new facilities.

Regards,
Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

These guys provide the BEST service I have ever encountered. Every single personnel. Very pleasant and impressive! A+ from MichAel Julian Kovadlo. Very highly recommended, will def stay there again on my next trip. Also a great location in Polanco, great spa and restaurant

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello Mr. Kovadlo,

We are so proud we made your stay a W Experience; it is really nice to hear we have done an excellent job and our staff is making the difference!

We are looking forward to have you here soon.

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

After reading a couple of the reviews, I was kind of skeptical to stay over here, at the end I found a really good rate and decided to give it a try. Well let me tell you it was the best decision I could ever made.
Let me start by saying that yes, the hotel it's quite dated, and they are in the middle of a full refreshment. By the day I checked out the renovation on the lobby and bar was 99% done.
Starting with the check in, staff was really polite and always referring to me by my last name, asking about my room preferences. Bell boy takes us to our room, and yeah as other reviews state, the configuration it's quite weird, but that doesn't mean bed and pillows are not comfortable, big spaces, huge shower and tub area, and no, I couldn't hear any music or noise so my rest was really good!
The concierge was really helpful in getting us all the reservations we wanted for the restaurants in the area, within hours I had all my conformations in my room.
You can't beat the area! Within walking distance of all the restaurants, shopping areas, and museums, W has one of the best locations in Mexico City.
Now, service! Let me tell you I have traveled quite a bit, and I work in this industry, and I was amazed by the level of service I found in the W bar. Rene, the barman is your must to go person! The level of professionalism and the way he interacts with customers it's out of this world. From creating a perfect cocktail to recommending places to have lunch or dinner, this guy is one of the few people I have met in the way that really delivers the W motto, and you can really tell he loves his job.
Overall a really nice place to stay, enjoy a nice cocktail in one of the most trendy areas in Mexico City. I can't wait to visit them when all the refreshment project it's done!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello zaan,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you here during your last trip at Mexico City. We are going to share all your great comments as a motivation to keep providing world class service.

We hope you can visit us again once the renovation at the rooms is finished so you can give us the feedback we need to be the best hotel!

Warm regards,
Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Loved the W in Mexico City! Stayed there for 1 night and I have zero complaints. The service was perfect, the location was great and it was very clean. The hotel is located near a stop for the "hop on and hop off" tours so it was perfect. It was also near some of the most hip restaurants. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello Anita F,

We are so glad to hear you really enjoyed your time with us. This kind of comments make us to keep providing the best service we can.

Looking forward to see you again,

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

At the W everything has been designed for your comfort and wellness. Modern, decorated with excellency, you will find the right balance between price and feeling unique. Located in the hotels area of Polanco is a great place to stay a weekend or simply come by the bar an have finest drinks in a red walls and lighting ambient that brings you a warm space to stay. The suites are wonderful. Do not hesitate to visit it. The marlin carpaccio is awesome and delicious, try it, will make your stay at the bar.

Room Tip: The wonderful room type are great, quiet, spacious and have a special touch that
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello Federico,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.
We at W strive to make each guest experience memorable and pleasant, and it is always nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to have you here soon.

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#41 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.