We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the service ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Mexico City to your Saves list
W Mexico City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's all about the service ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

After reading a couple of the reviews, I was kind of skeptical to stay over here, at the end I found a really good rate and decided to give it a try. Well let me tell you it was the best decision I could ever made.
Let me start by saying that yes, the hotel it's quite dated, and they are in the middle of a full refreshment. By the day I checked out the renovation on the lobby and bar was 99% done.
Starting with the check in, staff was really polite and always referring to me by my last name, asking about my room preferences. Bell boy takes us to our room, and yeah as other reviews state, the configuration it's quite weird, but that doesn't mean bed and pillows are not comfortable, big spaces, huge shower and tub area, and no, I couldn't hear any music or noise so my rest was really good!
The concierge was really helpful in getting us all the reservations we wanted for the restaurants in the area, within hours I had all my conformations in my room.
You can't beat the area! Within walking distance of all the restaurants, shopping areas, and museums, W has one of the best locations in Mexico City.
Now, service! Let me tell you I have traveled quite a bit, and I work in this industry, and I was amazed by the level of service I found in the W bar. Rene, the barman is your must to go person! The level of professionalism and the way he interacts with customers it's out of this world. From creating a perfect cocktail to recommending places to have lunch or dinner, this guy is one of the few people I have met in the way that really delivers the W motto, and you can really tell he loves his job.
Overall a really nice place to stay, enjoy a nice cocktail in one of the most trendy areas in Mexico City. I can't wait to visit them when all the refreshment project it's done!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello zaan,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you here during your last trip at Mexico City. We are going to share all your great comments as a motivation to keep providing world class service.

We hope you can visit us again once the renovation at the rooms is finished so you can give us the feedback we need to be the best hotel!

Warm regards,
Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    178
    98
    35
    20
See reviews for
33
140
35
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Loved the W in Mexico City! Stayed there for 1 night and I have zero complaints. The service was perfect, the location was great and it was very clean. The hotel is located near a stop for the "hop on and hop off" tours so it was perfect. It was also near some of the most hip restaurants. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello Anita F,

We are so glad to hear you really enjoyed your time with us. This kind of comments make us to keep providing the best service we can.

Looking forward to see you again,

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

At the W everything has been designed for your comfort and wellness. Modern, decorated with excellency, you will find the right balance between price and feeling unique. Located in the hotels area of Polanco is a great place to stay a weekend or simply come by the bar an have finest drinks in a red walls and lighting ambient that brings you a warm space to stay. The suites are wonderful. Do not hesitate to visit it. The marlin carpaccio is awesome and delicious, try it, will make your stay at the bar.

Room Tip: The wonderful room type are great, quiet, spacious and have a special touch that
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello Federico,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.
We at W strive to make each guest experience memorable and pleasant, and it is always nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to have you here soon.

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

the room i had was amazing, bright, big and designed in a very modern style. It even had a hammock in the bathroom. they were still remodelling the lobby, but i was pleasantly surpirsed by the lightness of the room. I experienced and also other people were telling me that the W hotel rooms in other cities are dark.

Room Tip: get one the new styled rooms on the top floor and enoy the view over the city from your hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi M_Widjaja,

Our Living Bar at the lobby is already finished with the new look, please feel free to visit us again and give us your feedback also I am pleased to know that you love the light in our rooms.

Hope to see you soon,

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel is fine - it is a W, with everything that this entails. It is true that the interior is starting to show its age, but it is in no way shabby. In a world of generic hotel experiences, this is at least unique (in a good way). Maybe not ideally suited to the traditional business traveller, but I've always enjoyed the slightly impractical side of the W hotels.

The outstanding feature, by a long shot, is the great service from everyone that I encountered - especially the reception desk. Always friendly and helpful, as expected, but also very resourceful when I had a crisis (100% my fault). I would also recommend using the hotel's drivers, who offered a similar level of service.

Room Tip: I had a room high up, but colleagues on some lower floors complained about street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello G4about,

We really appreciate all the comments about the service of our staff as our priority is to create experiences; in addition, I would like to inform you that our rooms will be renovated soon and, by the moment, you can come again to visit our new Living Bar with the W concept you mentioned you enjoy.

Regards!

Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Hotel staff exceptionally welcoming and accommodating, especially when addressing an issue with the room. Large, spacious and very comfortable rooms. Great location in Polanco district. Close to great restaurants and shopping.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello Hadi-NYC,

Thank you for your great feedback, it is always nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have you here again soon.

Warm regards,
Diana Escamilla
Whatever/Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

So, let me start by saying I am a business traveller, so this will be a very biased review. That being said, here are the good things:
- service is extremely good
- fits all the basic for a 4 star: clean, good rooms, etc
- location is amazing, specially if you wanna be in the trendy/cool places, though I would still prefer condesa
Now to things I would improve:
- i find the music which is endlessly playing in every public facility annoying. You cant have a quiet breakfast or read a book at the restaurant - thats impossible
- some of the facilities are getting old - furniture chipping, old carpet, things like that. There seems to be a renovation going on right now, but looks like it's only on the main lobby
- my room smelled like cigarettes even though it was a non-smoking room
- i really don't understand why every room service comes with a mandatory service fee AND a delivery fee! I am usually a great tipper, but under those circumstances I never tip! By the way, st regis never does a thing like that why W does it beats me.
- the restaurant is not the priority, the bar is. Which means it took me 1.5 hour to get a burger and dessert at the restaurant on a friday night. So really, just go the restaurants in the area. You are better off.
- the hotel staff is kind of unaware of what are the needs for a business traveller. As I arrived, they told me I would get the room in one hour. 45 min have passed and being extremely late for work, I ask if I can have a shower and unpack a few things. The staff tells me i can use the spa for the shower, but I literally have to unpack in the lobby in front if everyone. I mean, how about leading me to somewhere private before heading to the spa? Come on, totally clueless!
- my phone stopped working and after bringing it to the reception, I am still waiting for it...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Experience, Manager at W Mexico City, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear ElisaKJ,

Please accept my most profound apologies for all the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us, our main goal is to make each visit of our guests a W Experience.

I can assure you we will correct all the issues you mentioned as we want to deliver world class service with our facilities and the staff properly trained.

By the moment, as you pointed out, only the living (our lobby) and the Restaurant are in renew, however all the rooms will be redecorated soon so we can have a new and fresh look for you.

Best regards,

Diana Escamilla
Whatever / Whenever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#40 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.