We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Mexico City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W Mexico City to your Saves list
W Mexico City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #58 of 294 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Ft Lauderdale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trendy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

In summary, W hotel in Mexico city is brilliant. Very hip and trendy. The shower is fantastic, the toiletries are top of the line. Bed and furniture are very confortable.
However, the room is showing signs of becoming tired. lots of flooring stains and chipping paint on the walls. Minor details that, I am sure, may be fixed with a little "in depth" maintenance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    197
    107
    38
    22
See reviews for
37
158
38
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel is were out. All the furniture is chipped, the rugs are old, the window shades are awful. Even Though the place has great location and excellent service. I almost forget about the quality of the ambiance once they provide room service. That is amazing!

Room Tip: Do not ask corner rooms, they are little. Try upper floors 6 to higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

W Hotels lead the pack in hip luxury and this one is no exception. Hip hammocks in the bathrooms, nightclub-like lighting in the halls, cubist furniture in the rooms, etc. But it was a bit much for me. Not only that, parts of the walls in the bathrooms were either chipping or unpainted. (I stayed here on more than one occasion and it was same in each room.)

On the bright side, the location is excellent. The gym is updated, if small. The Sunday brunch is something to behold!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The room was spacious and comfortable and interesting in that W sort of way. We received a generous SPG upgrade and attentive service. The restaurant food was good, especially compared to the neighboring Polanco restaurants, which I heard accurately described as places to go for the atmosphere, not the food. The location was convenient to the park and to catch the subway -- which I highly recommend for its cleanliness and efficiency. We never waited more than 3 minutes for a train.

The one disappointment was at check-out, especially after an otherwise outstanding stay. There were so many problems -- incorrect charges, misunderstanding the benefits I had chosen, miscommunication, and just plain wasting my time with questions such as, "Do you need hotel transportation?" when he knew our cab was waiting outside and we were late for our flight. This was at 4:30am and nothing else was going on in the lobby. There were a handful of staff around doing nothing else. It left an unfortunate impression.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is one of the best W i have been to...They have great service and hotel location is very good in Polanco.

The Lobby is very contemporary and inviting. The rooms are little on small side but very nicely done. Room design is also contemporary with low beds but very comfortable. If you are staying try to stay away from elevators and higher the floor the better...since there is music going on in the Lobby during late evening hours.

There are a lot of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: try to stay away from elevators and higher the floor the better...since there is music going on in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed 5 nights at the W Hotel in the Polanco area of Mexico City and I have to say this is the best W Hotel that I have stayed in ever. The room was in fantastic condition and the service all around was outstanding. We were initially set to stay 4 out of 7 nights in Mexico City, but extended it by another night because we enjoyed the hotel so much. I added the extra night with ease and didn't have to change rooms. The folks at the concierge desk were very helpful with finding the necessities like a bank to get cash and a pharmacy for toiletries. The doormen were always there to open our car doors and to get us a car service when we needed a taxi. Room service arrived quickly and the food was delicious. We also grabbed a quick breakfast from the bar before heading out for a tour and even that small interaction was highlighted by stellar service by the staff on duty. On the afternoon of our last night there, someone from the staff came to our room to thank us for staying and asked if we needed anything else before we checked out in the morning. (That was quite a pleasant surprise!)

The Polanco area is a pleasant respite from the hustle and bustle of Reforma with several nice restaurants within walking distance. Walking along Campos Eliseos there are numerous boutiques nestled in the beautiful buildings of the neighborhood. At night the lounge of the W turns into quite the chic place to have drinks and enjoy pleasant conversation. We may return to Mexico City in the winter and we will definitely stay at the W when we return.

Room Tip: The fitness center is great, but beware running on a treadmill in such high altitude! It can be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I love the fit out at W hotels, but some times the service can let the whole experience down. Well that's definitely NOT the case at the W Mexico City. WOW is actually right! They where so kind and wonderful. Helped with everything. Rushed breakfast when I needed it. Room service was great. Goes without saying the rooms where spectacular! Only thing they could do is get another bike in the gym. One not enough. 

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to W Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Mexico City

Address: Campos Eliseos 252, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#24 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#50 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Mexico City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your W Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
w Hotels Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Mexico City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.