We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best mexican food restaurant in the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cardenal Alameda

El Cardenal Alameda
70 Juarez Avenue | at Hilton Hotel, Mexico City, Mexico
+52 55186632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 2,004 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The best mexican food restaurant in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The ambiance might not show it, being in one of the newest hotels in Mexico City, yet, the flavour and service of "El Cardenal" is unsurpassed.

As a recommendation, arrive after 2 pm, otherwise, you'll get the brunch menu, which is fantastic, but pales in comparison with the lunch!

Soups are marvelous, bringing true textures and flavours of yore. Anything you ask from the menu will surpass your expectations and bring true traditional cuisine tastes to your mouth.

I cannot pick one dish above any other, because each deserves a medal on its own, yet, I do encourage you to forgo coffee and instead ask for the herb tea, as served in the Tarascan region of Michoacán. It will leave you with a great taste, after what I can only imagine would be a great experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mexican breakfast, perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The sweet breads are the best starter. Then is the rest of the menu: you don't understand much of it, but I've been twice and everything was very good. The place is elegant and modern, perfect for business breakfasts. Try the hot chocolate.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Tostadas de Atun- oh my!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is inside the Hilton hotel, and it is so good!! Even though we arrived well past lunch time, (around 4pm), the place was buzzing full. Service is incredible, the food comes out really fast; you get a server to take your order and serve you, but your food is brought out from the kitchen by someone else, so your server remains on the floor pretty much the entire time and you can easily get someone's attention. Now for the food: You must try their tostadas the atun (tuna toasts)- They are pure explosion of flavor in your mouth. also recommend their noodle/ bean soup, but I have a feeling you won't go wrong with any dish there, they make their own cheese, tortillas and bread --yum! If you have room for dessert, their arroz con leche can be a good choice, though I hear their seasonal "nieves" (sorbets), are quite outstanding

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Genuine and 'Mexican Classy'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The menu is quite extensive and varied. Dishes are kicked out of the kitchen (at a very fast pace, by the way) in good shape. Overall well prepared, for how classic they could sound. The mural painting is quite cool (and famous), showing several pieces of Mexico history in an allegoric way. The number of waiters and waitresses is impressively high, they seem to be just everywhere...Try it, but I think the other El Cardenal (which I have not tried) might be a better pick.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The only good thing is the pan dulce”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went for breakfast Food is average nothing special but the pan dulce (conchas) is really good...is always crowded.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cardenal Alameda also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Cardenal Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cardenal Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.