We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Mexican Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintonil

Quintonil
Newton 55 | Polanco, Mexico City, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Quintonil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 1,742 restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $500 - $500
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Ubicado en la colonia Polanco —el barrio en el que se encuentran las propuestas gastronómicas más interesantes de la ciudad de México— y bajo el mando de Jorge Vallejo —joven chef mexicano que cuenta ya con una sólida trayectoria y un amplio reconocimiento a su trabajo— Quintonil ofrece una propuesta gastronómica que expresa con claridad los sabores y las formas de la cocina mexicana moderna.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Modern Mexican Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hidden in a calm street in Polanco, this small charming little restaurant lies in one of the most exclusive parts of town. Owners Alejandra and Jorge have been working hard to get this gem up and running. The excellent and creative food is an example of the modern Mexican cuisine. Try the tasting menu, every day is a surprise. Good mexican wine and mezcal selection. One of Mexico City`s best.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    78
    27
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Focused on food quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent gourmet approach to mexican food. It lacks decoration, terrace would be nicer with some vegetation. Very plain and sober place. The main attraction of this place is the quality of the food. Small portions. Good selection of wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food, well served in a relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our party of four all had the set taster ("degustion" ) menu which has six courses listed on the menu but on our night (like another reviewer) also had 3 chefs surprises or "amuses" in addition. The dishes were all very well presented and excellently cooked with great flavours. All the courses were based on traditional Mexican dishes but each was given a twist (or three!) to make it special. One of our party was Mexican and he was able to identify for us what each course was traditionally based on. As we would expect for a taster menu, each individual course was a small portion but there was also a roll basket with very good home made rolls and excellent home made relish and black butter all of which were regularly replenished until we got to the desert courses. We were all delighted with the quantity, quality, presentation and flavours of our meals.
Our head waiter was excellent and we enjoyed excellent service throughout. Like other reviewers we observed both the owner and the head chef coming out to keep an eye on things and to chat to customers, which is always a good sign.
The frontage to the restaurant is not the most inspiring but the inside is bright and cheerful but not fussy. We were on the 'terrace' which is more accurately a large patio out the back with a retractable cover. Do not expect a view!
We booked for 7pm (the restaurant opens much early than this) and when we arrived a few minutes early were (very politely asked if we could come back at 7 because they were not ready for us yet. The restaurant does not appear to have a separate area to wait in before going to your table. When we came back we noticed another couple waiting on the bench outside, presumably also early. So when you book, check when they expect you to arrive!
With a moderate amount of wine and a tip do not expect much change from £60 a head but for that we got a special meal in very comfortable surroundings that we will remember with great satisfaction.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Creative and a joy to the pallet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Enjoyed my meal here. Great taste. Portions are concise. Creative and well thought out. Decor is understated and a bit casual. Maybe a bit too casual. Service was good. All worked as a team to ensure your pleasure. Including the owner Alejandra Flores. She actually was more attentive and connected than my waiter. He seemed a bit overwhelmed. Look forward to returning to try more and more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“splendid tasting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

an interesting contemporary take on traditional Mexican food. Some tastes unlike anything I'd had before. Can't remember every course (not helped by the fact we had some lovely craft beers, Mexican white wine, then red, then a Chilean Reisling with pudding!)

Particular highlights were: cactus based amuse bouche with crackling, tuna sashimi with a cuttlefish ink, lemon and pork reduction - amazing combinations of flavours. Loath to say best of all, everything was great, but I've a sweet tooth so best of all were the amazing puddings: one was sweet potato based, another a chocolate mousse, a cactus sorbet with salt, one smothered in brandy snaps and popcorn - all were delicious.

Highly recommended, my best meal in Mexico.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quintonil also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Quintonil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintonil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.