We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Francisco Marquez 134 | Condesa, Mexico City, Mexico
(55) - 5211 8260
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #822 of 2,304 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I love the food at Taj Mahal, I find it very tasty. Some dishes are too spicy for me but if you tell them that you don't eat spicy they will recommend things you can eat, and there is a lot of choice. I love their lassi drinks too! The service is good and people are friendly. The place is not that well decorated though, they could improve it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“For a city with very little Indian food, pretty decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Went here the other day with friends, and it was pretty good. We had the chili chicken tikka marsala, the chili lamb marsala, tandoori chicken, a vegetable dish and rice with raisins, coconut and some other stuff. The rice dish and the veggie dish (my apologies for not remembering which, but it was somewhat sweet) were excellent. Service could have been better, a bit more description about the food would have helped as my freinds are not particulalry well versed in the cuisine nor am I so articulate in Spanish to describe the flavors. That said we were pleased, and apart from what seemed like high prices, once we got the check, given how full we were, we felt we were charged very reasonably. Mexico City has, that I know of, only 3 Indian restaruants, one in La Condesa, another in Polanco/Anzures, and another in Santa Fe (I don't know if it is still there); it is a cuisine that is just barely being introduced to the city's palate. Given its new status, I think they do a great job in this place keeping reasonably true to the dishes. The owners are from the Indian sub-continent (I am not shure if they are Indian, Pakistani, Bangladeshi, etc.) which helps one but in to the authenticity as well. All in all, a good choice for adventurous local eaters. If you are from London or have lived in India you mgiht say it is not that great, but I think one must adjust expectations given the geography, the same way I would reviewing the Mexican food in Mumbai.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not that good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

the ambience, attention and decoration it's nice! but quite expensive and dirty...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
188 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great little find in the Condesa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stumbled upon this Indian restaurant in the Condesa. Its owners are from Bangladesh and make some great food. Awesome naans & really tasty curries. Not as greasy as Dawat or Tandoor.

Decor is nothing special but they have outdoor space too. Takeout available.

Not bad for Indian food in Mexico City. I'll be going back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bangladeshi owned, Restaurant named Indian and food was not good at all...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I went to this so called Indian restaurant along with my friends. Name is Taj Mahal but as soon you entered you will find Bangladeshi music getting played on youtube. No one knows Hindi at the restaurant and when we ordered food it was really pathetic. In breads they had only nan which was half baked. Paneer and aloo sabji was so bad that if one cook at his/her home it would be much better. I would not recommend to any one who would pe planning to go there to eat some authentic Indian food but if you are a Bangladeshi, I'll hope you will enjoy the food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.