We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good prices.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Historico

Azul Historico
Isabel La Catolica 30 | Col. Centro Histórico, Mexico City 06000 , Mexico
+52 55101316
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 2,234 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Benicia, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Good service, the food samples some if the regions of Oaxaca and Yucatan. The menu changes every week and during our visit the have a guest chef visit and were featuring some of her dishes. The black bean soup was great as Welles the black bean tamal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    148
    57
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Azul - the best contemporary Mexican cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The setting of Azul is just unrivalled. It's such a pleasure to dine in its fancifully beautiful, almost magical decked out courtyard. We were there on a Sunday, the last day of our Mexico City trip. The restaurant was recommended by the concierge at the Hampton Inn, a most knowledgeable person on local restaurants – every place he suggested was good. It was a short walk from the hotel. We'd actually walked past the entrance a few times before but never noticed it as a restaurant as it was set back beyond the deep entrance. We arrived around 4 pm and it was completely full (didn't help that many people who had long finished their meal seemed to have no intention of ever leaving – it was just too nice a place to hang out). Also the restaurant was closing early that day for some reason (maybe because it was a Sunday) so there was a short window before they'd cut off seating more people. It would have been a real pity had we not been able to dine there as it was our last chance. Luckily after more than a whole hour (!) of waiting we did get a table (good thing that the courtyard was surrounded by a couple of floors of fancy shops so there was something to do). It was definitely worth the wait as it turned out to be our best meal in Mexico City. Service was very efficient (partly maybe had to do with the kitchen's imminent closing). We both had seafood and the grilled hot peppered prawns were just delicious beyond words, the best I'd ever had. Desserts were also excellent. It was a most wonderful dining experience except for the long wait. So better make a reservation!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum - have the margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great atmosphere, great food and excellent margaritas. It was very reasonably priced. I had a venison starter, shrimp with green sauce as the main and a few bites of a chocolate tomale for dessert. The service was very nice however the spanish and english menus are different so if you're kind of in the "spanglish" arena it may be wise to request a menu in each language so you can double check that you're seeing all of the options. Overall, we had a lovely time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“nice place for a relaxing good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our first night in Mexico city and the B&B we stayed at recommended Azul Historico which was within easy walking distance.

We very much enjoyed the Mexican Food. We had appetizers and then ordered. My waife had a pear salad with blue cheese and asked if she could have scallops added which were part of a different salad. The wait staff is not proficient in English but we were able to communicate and they asked the kitcheb staff shich was agreeable.

I ordered bunelos mole negro whcih was excellent.

The drinks were well made and the atmosphere was very relaxing in a courtyard

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside garden-like restaurant walking distance from Palacio de Bella Artes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful beautiful beautiful! Azul Historico is located at mexico's city city centre. They offer a base menu and a monthly changing menu; we tried dishes from both and everything was delicious. Service was impeccable. Ambiance was delightful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azul Historico also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Azul Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Historico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.