We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good prices.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Historico

Azul Historico
Isabel La Catolica 30 | Col. Centro Histórico, Mexico City 06000 , Mexico (Centro Historico)
+52 55101316
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Azul Historico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 2,943 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centro Historico
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Good service, the food samples some if the regions of Oaxaca and Yucatan. The menu changes every week and during our visit the have a guest chef visit and were featuring some of her dishes. The black bean soup was great as Welles the black bean tamal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gbsrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Azul - the best contemporary Mexican cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The setting of Azul is just unrivalled. It's such a pleasure to dine in its fancifully beautiful, almost magical decked out courtyard. We were there on a Sunday, the last day of our Mexico City trip. The restaurant was recommended by the concierge at the Hampton Inn, a most knowledgeable person on local restaurants – every place he suggested was good. It was a short walk from the hotel. We'd actually walked past the entrance a few times before but never noticed it as a restaurant as it was set back beyond the deep entrance. We arrived around 4 pm and it was completely full (didn't help that many people who had long finished their meal seemed to have no intention of ever leaving – it was just too nice a place to hang out). Also the restaurant was closing early that day for some reason (maybe because it was a Sunday) so there was a short window before they'd cut off seating more people. It would have been a real pity had we not been able to dine there as it was our last chance. Luckily after more than a whole hour (!) of waiting we did get a table (good thing that the courtyard was surrounded by a couple of floors of fancy shops so there was something to do). It was definitely worth the wait as it turned out to be our best meal in Mexico City. Service was very efficient (partly maybe had to do with the kitchen's imminent closing). We both had seafood and the grilled hot peppered prawns were just delicious beyond words, the best I'd ever had. Desserts were also excellent. It was a most wonderful dining experience except for the long wait. So better make a reservation!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum - have the margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great atmosphere, great food and excellent margaritas. It was very reasonably priced. I had a venison starter, shrimp with green sauce as the main and a few bites of a chocolate tomale for dessert. The service was very nice however the spanish and english menus are different so if you're kind of in the "spanglish" arena it may be wise to request a menu in each language so you can double check that you're seeing all of the options. Overall, we had a lovely time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jungstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice place for a relaxing good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our first night in Mexico city and the B&B we stayed at recommended Azul Historico which was within easy walking distance.

We very much enjoyed the Mexican Food. We had appetizers and then ordered. My waife had a pear salad with blue cheese and asked if she could have scallops added which were part of a different salad. The wait staff is not proficient in English but we were able to communicate and they asked the kitcheb staff shich was agreeable.

I ordered bunelos mole negro whcih was excellent.

The drinks were well made and the atmosphere was very relaxing in a courtyard

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingdonUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside garden-like restaurant walking distance from Palacio de Bella Artes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful beautiful beautiful! Azul Historico is located at mexico's city city centre. They offer a base menu and a monthly changing menu; we tried dishes from both and everything was delicious. Service was impeccable. Ambiance was delightful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarkChocolateandWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azul Historico also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Azul Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing