We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional meal worth the extra bit of money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante El Cardenal

Restaurante El Cardenal
Av. De la Paz No. 32 | San Angel, Mexico City, Mexico
55-50-02-93
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,812 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“traditional meal worth the extra bit of money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I am reviewing the one in the historic centre (we also saw one in San Angel). This is a lunch place and they are not open for dinner, atleast on the weekends. the food is simply delicious. the service is fair. we attempted going back twice after the first meal, but one was for dinner when they were closed and the other was sunday morning when there was a long wait. will surely go back on a return trip

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“El Cardenal San Angel - beautiful location, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is the only restaurant we read about in advance before our trip to Mexico City – at the time we were thinking of staying at the Hilton Reforma and it seemed that the restaurant was part of the attraction for the hotel. At the time didn't realize it's got several locations. As we ended up not staying at the Hilton we were not sure how to fit it in. However on the Saturday we were planning to go to the Frieda Khalo museum and then San Angel (for the famous Saturday market) the very helpful staff at the Hampton Inn pointed out to us that the venue in San Angel would be right on our way. And it worked out perfectly – we took a long leisurely walk from the FK museum by way of Av Francisco Sosa (eventually became Av De La Paz) and got to the restaurant at about 2:30, and were seated right away (without a reservation).

Compared to the one in the Hilton, this venue has a lot more character and better ambience, being housed in a thoroughly restored beautiful old building. Service and the food were both fantastic (there were menus in English). It was not inexpensive, but the portions were incredibly generous. Luckily we really worked up an appetite by the time we got there, otherwise there was no way we would have been able to finish all the food on our plates no matter how delicious. Only regret was, there was no room left for dessert! For anyone planning to go to San Angel a stop at this restaurant should definitely be included in the itinerary.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must for tourist that want to taste real Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I will suggest to have breakfast and show up early since can it can get very crowded. Try the sweat bread , is just fantastic with a cup of hot chocolate. The green juice is aslo a house specialty. Huevos Motulenos , Gorditas michoacanas mmmm tasty!!!

Hope you enjoy it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Among the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

There are four locations for El Cardenal in Mexico City. The most traditional one is at Palma 23 in the historic centre and is worth visiting at least for a drink, however if you want to enjoy several hours of good Mexican food and tranquillity, the best El Cardenal is not at the Hilton Hotel in Alameda, or in the flashy modern building in Palmas, but at Avenida La Paz, in San Angel. An old style house has been adapted into a pleasant restaurant that seems to be "far for the mudding crowd" in spite of its location at a busy neighbourhood. My advice: sit outside at the garden, it is the "smoking section" but rarely anybody smokes. As for the food, everything is good. I ate a tasty "sopa tlaxcalteca" and a "suprema de róbalo con salsa de queso y chipotle"...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de México, México
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I went to the Cardenal on Av de la Paz in San Angel, in the middle of one of the oldest upscale colonial neighbourhoods in Mexico City (south), great service and great food and if they don't have it on the menu they will prepare it for you.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Cardenal also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Restaurante El Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante El Cardenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;