We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Downtown Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Downtown Mexico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Downtown Mexico to your Saves list
Hotel Downtown Mexico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Isabel la Catolica 30, Mexico City 06010, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
“My Downtown Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was looking forward to have a great experience for my 1st Anniversary, and I did! DOWNTOWN by Habita Group offered me such a nice place, great location, excellent service and really comfortable suits, the view is great, and I had the BEST Anniversary! Wiii Wiii

Carlos G.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adalberto R, Gerente at Hotel Downtown Mexico, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Hi Carlos,
It was a pleasure for me and my team to be able have you with us and assist you in enjoying your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    31
    22
    17
    16
See reviews for
5
56
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Hi,
We stayed in Downtown Beds, the hostel part, and it was fantastic. The place is bright new, they have done a great job in having a modern hostel preserving all the structure of the typical casa virreinal. The rooms were spotless and really quiet since they are all in an interior patio so you are right in the city centre but can have a nice rest. Communal bathrooms and showers were in perfect condition.
The hostel is part of a group of gorgeous bars and restaurants in a yard so if you make it there late or tired you don't even need to leave the place and it's comfortable, open till late and the atmosphere is cool. You can have nice dinner in Azul Histórico and even some mezcal in La Botica bar!!! The staff were very nice and helpfull and the big screen with huge sofas or the swimming pool on the terrace are super welcoming after a long day or night visiting this amazing city. Will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adalberto R, Gerente at Hotel Downtown Mexico, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hi Cristina,
It was a pleasure having you around. We are glad to have been able to offer you the experience that we intented. Hope to see you back in Downtown Beds, let us know if you come back so we can great you as you should be greated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We got downtown hostel, is new and it doesnt have much reviews but believe me that is one of he best hostels i have stayed. It has 2 bars, swiming pool, and a jacuzzy on the roof of a XVI century building right in the middle of mexico city. Nice staff, beds were very creative and we didnt feel any noise at night. Is quiet close to several cultural places as ruins and aztec pyramids. Nice place for a great city!!! Hope they keep that prices!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adalberto R, Gerente at Hotel Downtown Mexico, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
It's been a pleasure having you around and hope to see you when ever you come back to Mexico City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

One of three hotels we used while travelling in Mexico, and the Hotel Down Town is by far one of my favorite hotels ever.

There are three restaurants, and several small shops in their property. Their shops range from all different sort of snacks (from artesanal chocolate to breads and mexican delicacies), to art from local artists.
There's a pool, a deck and a covered bar on the rooftop, where we spent a few late afternoons.

The room was spacious with modern conveniences, such as electrical plugs around the bed and an ipod dock connected to the TV. Its decoration is identical to the designs you see in the ancient ruins, but it's done very discreetly and you might not notice if you havent been to their museums (some of which are within a short walking distance).
Wifi worked very well in the room, though not in other sections of the hotel. (in the room it worked well enough for me to use Skype with no issues)
The showers had excellent pressure and hot water. That might not seem like a big deal, but after walking around all day, it made a difference.

The General Manager, Adalberto I believe, made sure we had everything we needed, and his staff were friendly and helpful. Their team made it feel more like a resort than a hotel.

Location wise it's less than a mile away from Zocalo, so it's very close to a lot of history, though we did travel all over by taking the metro in the Zocalo square.

Hotel Down Town used to be a palace and it feels like it.
It was our first time to Mexico City, and we're already talking about going back, partially to stay at Down Town again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adalberto R, Gerente at Hotel Downtown Mexico, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Keith, it was a pleasure having you around. Tough rain those days you were here but I'm glad you got to enjoy our hotel the same way we enjoyed having you around. See you on your next visit to Mexico City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Downtown Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Downtown Mexico

Address: Isabel la Catolica 30, Mexico City 06010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Downtown Mexico 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Downtown Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Downtown Mexico Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Downtown Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.