We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel for Business in Santa Fe Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Sante Fe 160 Col Santa Fe, Mexico City 01219, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #25 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel for Business in Santa Fe Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at this property last week while on business in Mexico. The hotel seems to be relatively new and was very comfortable. The room was very nice with a good bed and the bathroom had both a shower and a separate bathtub.

The Cua restaurant was available for breakfast. The service was very good and the buffet had most everything you would need.

I believe the hotel is located in the Financial and business district. Many large international companies were located in the area, which if you wanted to were in walking distance. Across the street there was a nice mall with restaurants though other restaurants were a short ride or walk away.

The lounge was very nice. Good service to obtain a drink or even have a quick dinner or snack. They had live music each evening when I was there.

The only negative was the internet access. They provide a custom code to access the internet. The first code did not work for me and had to obtain a second one. This worked fine but the speed was below what I would expect. Then the code expired the day before I was checking out and needed to obtain a 3rd password.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM JW Marriott ... M, Director General at JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Shoejack20,

We are happy to know that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your time in sharing with us your experience in such a detailed manner.

Be confident that we have verified what exactly happened with the internet issue you mentioned so it never happens again.

Again, thanks for your preference. We look forward to host your next stay in town again.

Warm regards,

Miguel Mestas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
8
4
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I brought my family to Mexico City for summer vacation, and stayed at the JW Marriott in Santa Fe...for the last 14 years, I have always stayed at the JW Marriott in Polanco. I was very pleasantly surprise to see some of the staff at the Santa Fe location.

The hotel is beautiful, comfortable, and in a nice quiet area, will conveniences near by...restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The staff, was very attentive, and helpful...always willing to help. Chris Barrera was an outstanding bellboy, and a great example of the staff at the jw Marriott Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Get a room with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM JW Marriott ... M, Director General at JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Dan L,

It has been an honor to receive feedback from such an experienced traveler like yourself.
Eventhough our Hotel is located in the most important corporate area of México, it is surrounded by activities that our guests can enjoy with their families. Our staf, specially the Concierge Department, is always happy to help you organize your trip so that you can focus on what matters the most: ENJOYING YOUR STAY!

We are very proud to know that our bellboy Chris was able to leave a good lasting memory on you and your family.

Thank you for all the years that you've been loyal to the JW Marriott brand. We can't wait to have you back!

Sincerely,

Miguel Mestas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hotel seems to be rather new. Great bathroom design and awesome views. The location is a little remote. You definitely need a car if you are staying there. There is a mall right next door but that's about it. If you have business in Reforma, it will take you a long time to get there due to Mexico's horrible traffic. The room was a nice size and very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to ensure a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM JW Marriott ... M, Director General at JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel on your recent stay in Mexico City.

As you well mentioned, we just celebrated our 2nd anniversary and it has been a true delight to provide an exceptional experience to such distinguished guests like yourself.

The area of Santa Fe offers you access within minutes to cutting-edge restaurants, bars, cafes, boutiques, and one of the largest shopping malls in Latin America. Also, some of the city's most notable corporations and universities are all just steps away.
We have a Concierge department that is always ready to assist you in case you need to move around town and enjoy everything that the area has to offer.

We will be happy to welcome you again anytime soon.

Thank you, kind regards.

Miguel Mestas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nice property generally but not of JW quality. Good for a regular marriott but not for a JW. The rooms are a tad small. In my room there were blue streaks running down the bathroom wall (what they were I wondered), the ceiling in the shower looked like it was falling--just a really sloppy paint job.The hallway had food spilled on it. And the lounge offered only cold eggs and, a major surprise for Mexico, no tortillas. Front desk staff when I checked in was perfunctory. Asked for a room away from elevator and clerks says in what is now a routine at marriott, "we have a very nice room for you" and then puts me in a room right next to elevator. Oh well. I was surprised the windows were not soundproofed. Almost every room faces a major street and the noise is noticeable. There is a Westin nearby and a Hilton across the street. Might look into these in future stays.

Room Tip: Don't expect JW quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM JW Marriott ... M, General Manager at JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay in our Hotel.
Please accept our most sincere apology for the inconveniences presented during your stay.

Your comments have been analyzed by the Executive Committee in order to develop an action plan that guarantees a superb quality service and a well maintained facilities. Because we do have soundproofed windows, we will put all rooms under a strict sound test.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to host you once again in the near future. We ask for that opportunity.

Kind Regards,

Miguel Mestas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, IL, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel is very nice. The rooms are large and comfortable. The executive lounge is OPEN 24 hours. The WiFi works but can be a little slow. Staff is exceptional and hotel taxis were great. The price is reasonable. I could do without the traffic.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM JW Marriott ... M, General Manager at JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a delight has been for all of us to know that a well known traveler like yourself considered us the "Best Hotel in Mexico City".
It is clear that you know what to expect from a JW Marriott Hotel, and the fact that we delivered is anincredible motivation for us to keep improving on providing flawless experiences.

We will be honored if you decided to visit us next time you are in town.

Kind regards,

Miguel Mestas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed for business sunday through friday and used 3 training rooms in basement (level -1) and 2 lunch rooms (level 1). Stayed in room 603 and used The Lounge in level 14.

Staff is friendly, kind, respectful, well intentioned, willing to help (particularly Miguel at reception, bellboy and Sandy at events), but with very uneven performance and some areas (Food & Beverage Manager and Room´s Manager) letting down their peers, guests and clients.

Breakfast a "Cua" restaurant can be painfully slow. The eggs cook with eyeglasses is very slow, seems not to understand preparation preferences or to move at his natural (slow) pace, regardless of requests, length of the line, congestion in the lunch room. On the contrary the fajitas cook lady is cheerful, and outgoing, tries hard to understand requests and delivers with a smile. Bill can take time 5-10 minutes to arrive from servers, but from the room captain it is a breeze.

Bedroom was not cleaned by 1:00pm on monday and 2:00pm on tuesday. Their reason: priority is for rooms being vacated not staying guests! After explicitly requesting to make it earlier, they delivered.

In conference venue "Pollok" out of 5 days, 3 days there was unacceptable level of noise from the public hallway leading to public wash rooms, and from the private hallway leading to the kitchens. Sound isolation is clearly insufficient.

Private lunch on the 4th day took 105 minutes instead of planned 60, because "the chicken was too raw to serve!". As an apology we got a fancy and oversized afternoon break, but time and business event was hurt. But the F&B manager never came to give a personal apology to the senior person in the room as me (the coordinator) requested, in spite of a promise of making it happen. Food tastes very good and portions are generous. Servers well trained and respectful.

The Lounge in level 14 is nice, cozy, with limited options of great food, and larger options of spirits. Victor is kind, professional, discreet and helpful.

Pool is enough for laps, and has a nice functioning jacuzzi. Crowded on sunday, untouched on weekdays.

I recommend this hotel for business trip if expecting a clean bed, nice food, you are not in a hurry and appreciate kind smiles. Not so much recommended, if you have a large event that depends on multiple hotel areas, service and infrastructure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM JW Marriott ... M, Director General at JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Appreciated Guest,

Let me start by thanking you for taking time off your schedule in order to share with us such a detailed review about your recent stay in our Hotel.

We want you to know that we have analyzed every item you mentioned with our Executive Comittee and the proper action plan has been developed to guarantee the flawless experience that our distinguished guests, such as yourself, expect.

Again, thank you. We will be more than honored if you decided to stay with us again next time you visit Mexico City.

I stay at your disposal, please receive my kind regards.

Miguel Mestas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

A good looking hotel but:
No attention to detail
Kine of small rooms
Nice lobby
Nice mall across the street
Nice restaurant plaza @ the Westin hotel which is one block away
Wish JW would keep its high standard everywhere so you know what to expect...

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM JW Marriott ... M, Director General at JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me start by thanking you for chosing the JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe for your recent stay.
We are sorry to hear that our hotel and service did not met up with your expectations, reason why I would like to be in touch with you personally in order to understand the exact situations that caused you to didn't enjoyed your stay, this way we can apply your comments in order to improve our service and achieve the excellence that our distinguished guests, like yourself, deserve.

My e-mail adress is: mmestas@grupodiestra.com, I would be more than glad to hear from you.

Thank you, please receive my kind regards,

Miguel Mestas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe

Address: Ave Sante Fe 160 Col Santa Fe, Mexico City 01219, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#13 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#28 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City Santa Fe, a luxury hotel in Mexico City's most modern district. Its privileged location at the heart of Santa Fe will give you access to cutting-edge restaurants, bars, cafes, boutiques, and malls. Some of the city's most notable corporations and universities are all just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Mexico City Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.