We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel in Polanco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Habita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Habita to your Saves list
Hotel Habita
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Presidente Masaryk 201 | Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 295 Hotels in Mexico City
Alcobaca, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel in Polanco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I love this hotel every time I go. The terrace is amazing for meetings during the day or relax and have some drinks in the evening.
The rooms have great light, clean designed furniture and the bathrooms are always sharp.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    61
    33
    27
    19
See reviews for
5
54
32
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I've stayed here five times, I love the hotel's location, I adore the size of the rooms, the restaurant and the bar are also great. The service however can be excellent in a moment and awful at the next, it seems like they have 5 people running the whole establishment.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are really really big, and with a bath tub in which one can swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Hotel Habita is a small, beautiful, ultra-modern hotel in the center of Mexico City. The staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel Habita is within walking distance of great restaurants, museums, parks, embassies, and the United Nations offices.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

First, I’d like to point out the positives about this hotel. Great location. The physical plant is stunning to those who, like me, love modern. The rooms were small, but clean and stocked with tasteful amenities; although there were two of us staying in a room for 5 nights and we were never given more than one pair of slippers, or a new bar of soap.

Unfortunately, there are far more negatives about this property than there are positives, and they all center around “service” . The net effect is that I would never stay at this hotel again, nor would I ever recommend it to anyone based on my own personal experience. The negatives center around the horrific “service” – this hotel is a liability to the Tablet Hotels network, as well as to its other affiliations, including Leading Small Hotels of the World.

We were never given the simple and common courtesy of being told when and where breakfast – included in the Tablet Plus benefits – was served. The promised fruit plate (to be refreshed daily) was never refreshed. They looked at us like we had three heads when we inquired about the promised free daily dry cleaning item. Any information we got about the layout of the hotel and its facilities was the result of our asking.

There was a general sense of apathy and ignorance on the part of the front desk staff. Several plead ignorance to commonplace questions about what to see and do in the area because they had only been in Mexico City for a short time. Others were incompetent, not being able to answer basic questions about hotel goings on, services, the area or basic transportation options. We requested wake-up calls that never came. And, worst of all, they apparently took out their distaste for our expectations and questions by “warning” a driver that they hired on our behalf for a day tour to nearby pyramids that we were problematic. 75% of the way into the tour, the driver, who seem rather perplexed, shared this with us, apparently because he had no idea that we were anything but pleasant, reasonable, friendly people.

We started inquiring about New Year’s Eve options at the hotel the day that we arrived, but the front desk staff stalled repeatedly and would not confirm anything until four days later – on the afternoon of December 31st. At one point the most consistently irritating member of the front desk staff kept me waiting for 20 minutes while she tried to reconcile another guest’s bill, only to ultimately answer the question that I had asked when I first approached her with a simple and abrupt “no”. Multi-tasking – or at the very least getting another staff member’s assistance when there are guests experiencing a lengthy wait – is a basic requirement for any service worker, and most certainly for hotel of this supposed caliber. If she was the only person there at the time, then the hotel has a staffing and/or scheduling issue.

We signed a pricey charge slip for bottle service for a New Year’s Eve party at the hotel rooftop bar without adding a tip – preferring instead to pay an extremely generous tip in cash directly to our server after the services had been rendered. After checking out of the hotel at 4:00AM on New Year’s Day for our flight home, we discovered on our way to the airport that (1) a sizable and unauthorized tip had been added to the charge slip by bar staff the night before, and (2) that the front desk had charged us for several mini-bar items that we did not use. It was apparent that the bar staff had also been “warned” about us, even though there was no concerted effort to make up for the poor service and libelous gossip of the front desk staff.

Despite all of the problems we encountered at Hotel Habita, never once were we approached by a manager of the hotel to solicit our concerns, rectify the wrongs or offer corrective action or compensation. Clearly, management of this hotel does not care if its guests ever return, nor do they seem to have the good sense to know that well traveled, happy customers are the cheapest and most effective form of advertising and promotion that money can buy.

There were simply too many problems in the course of a 5 night stay to believe that these service issues are isolated in nature. This hotel should be avoided at all costs,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

No water in the hotel during the whole morning. I think its enough to summarize the worst hotel experience in Mexico City. The staff totally unaware of the problem, they just did not care. Noisy rooms, maintenance persons with loud radios in the halls.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I had read all the reviews prior to our stay here so expectations weren't high as we arrived at this hotel in the upscale suburb of Polanco. I was impressed by the location, Polanco is very pretty and clean with some great food options nearby including a cheap and delicious option around the corner as well as more high end places such as Pujol within walking distance.
Our room was minimalist but clean, no issues - yet. The first hurdle was the shower, the nozzle was such an odd shape it was impossible to get it to spray anyway near my body but the rest of the bathroom got a pretty good wash down every time I tried to shower. The products were a lovely selection by Malin & Goetz and regularly replenished.
The bed was comfortable however seemed to be designed for people 5'5 and under. No issue for me as a shorty but my boyfriend struggled.
The room menu advertises a DVD library with a selection of titles, when we asked to borrow a DVD however we were told that the whole library was on loan to another hotel. No apologies or further explanation. Apart from that the staff were helpful, especially the front of house staff who assisted with cabs and drivers.
The rooftop bar has a reputation of being a bit of a cool hangout. We tried going there every night of our stay but were surprised to find it overflowing each time with various private functions all choosing a 90s rave soundtrack. We retreated to our room and tried to sleep through the rave music. It was a shame as the bar looked like a really cool spot.
I'm not sure if the raves are continuing but if we stay here again I'll remember to bring my glow sticks and whistle.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very nice hotel if you like minimalist boutique. In a quiet, chic but slightly out of the way area if Mexico City which we were happy with. Our room was on the first floor and it was dry noisy. From the dustbin truck parking outside our window at 6am to a strange vibration in the floor (air on maybe) and a balcony door which didn't shut completely it wasn't very peaceful, but fine with ear plugs! Breakfast was great and the staff always nice and helpful. If you can, get a trusted taxi number you can call yourself as the hotel charges double. Also check your bill at the end as they had put on lots of mini bar it's that we hadn't used...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Habita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Habita

Address: Avda Presidente Masaryk 201 | Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#37 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Habita 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Habita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habita Mexico City
Habita Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Habita Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Habita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.