We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you deserve what is offered here ?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Polanco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Polanco to your Saves list
Hotel Polanco
Hotel Polanco
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Polanco
Edgar Allan Poe 8 | Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
Berkeley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Do you deserve what is offered here ?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The location is good if you require the Polanco area and can't afford one of the real hotels in the area. But it comes at a price. Rooms are small and with sewage problems (really ! ).
Besides, during several days we observed many customers walk in and nobody lifting up their head, answering a greeting, and barely answering questions, beyond collecting a Crest card.
Our toilet broke down and we called to report it. They said somebody would fix it and nobody came. Called again after a long wait and never got an answer. When we finally had to go down to the reception they simply said they had staffing problems, and that "they had ongoing sewage problems if it rains". (It rains almost daily in the summer).
What we found most appalling was never seeing a hint that maybe an apology was due for not answering the phone, for stating they would send somebody over and never did, for renting rooms knowing their sewage breaks down, etc. We tried to change hotels but this is a busy season and only this one was available. Wonder why ?

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
4
5
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean and the beds are small. The breakfast is almos at terrible as the service. The staff workers other than the cleaning lady are either terribly rude or more interested at looking at their phones than providing any kind of service. They can, and if they are felling like it they will, allow for the phone to ring for halk an hour before they answer it with a pretended heavy breath, after that they will answer with satisfying lie telling you they will fix the problem at once, instead time goes by a d the problem does not. We had to stay only because ALL other hotels had no vacancy. Bottom line is: if you are hesitating between this hotel and maybe a more eslxpensive one, it may be worth to spend the extra bucks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The hotel is well located in the Polanco area; it has few amenities but is good value for business and family visits to Mexico City.
Not suitable for a romantic getaway; location is good and the staff are very helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel was ideally located and an amazing value. The trip was split between business and pleasure and the hotel was perfectly located to explore the Polanco area of DF. Just a block away form Lincoln Park and the best plenty of resturaunts to choose from. The single room was clean, modern well maintained but the bathroom was just a little small.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have been travelling to Mexico city frequently. I have stayed at Intercontinental , Habitata , Nikko etc in the Polanco area. I had to stay for a longer time this time and tried Hotel Polanco as the prices were good for a longer stay. was initially hesitant to go there due to the negative reviews . But I tried it and worked fine. the hotel rooms are clean and staff are very friendly. Very safe and hotel arranged the needed facilities for my business needs. They have the bigger suites for US$20.00 additional which are spacious. I will certainly stay there on my next trip.

Room Tip: If you need print outs or scan their business office is open only from 8.00 am to 5.00 PM but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on business four different times an average of 4 nights each stay from March to Jun 2012.
The offices where I am working are close by, so I choose this hotel because of the convenience of being able to walk to the offices instead of taking a cab or bus.
I'm giving it three stars because it doesn't offer a whole lot other than a place to stay, but for being in the Polanco district, the pricing is pretty good.
The first time I stayed, I chose the Jr. Suite instead of the Single. For only $20/night more, to me it's worth it. It comes with an extra entry room, which isn't a big deal, except that it gives a little more space for your things, and allows you to spread things out if you need to do some work.

Okay, the good:
Location - It is only a few blocks from a very nice shopping and restaurant district, Hard Rock Cafe, and a couple of parks, and if you are going to a concert: the Auditorio Nacional. Within 5 blocks, there is virtually every kind of restaurant you can think of. The only problem is that the closest of these is probably 3-4 blocks, but it's not big deal. There is an Italian restaurant called La Bottiglia attached to the hotel, but I got tired of it pretty quickly.

The Rooms - They have LCD TVs (pretty much a standard now) but you need to pay a $20 deposit for the remote, wi-fi signal was pretty strong. You can see the wireless repeater antennae sticking out of some of the vents near the elevator and the far ends of the hallway....some of the middle rooms have a weaker signal, so try to stay on the ends of the hallways for the best signal.
The bed was firm, but comfortable. An iron is available if you call the front desk. The closet has an in-room safe, a small table for your luggage and hangers.
They are doing a remodeling project and it appears they've started remodeling from the top floor (6th) and are working their way down (currently they're working on the 4th floor). They're pretty much replacing bath fixtures and re-tiling around the sinks.

The service: It's average. Most are friendly, and when I needed something they were happy to help. There's a separate desk dedicated to calling for taxi service when needed, and one time they called a driver for me, explained to him that I wanted to visit the Torre LatinoAmérica on the way to the airport which required the driver to circle around the block for about 30 minutes while I ascended. I was a little nervous since I had some of my luggage in his trunk, but everything worked out great, and I paid him an extra 100 pesos for the inconvenience.

There are a few negatives of this hotel that I experienced, but nothing to keep me from coming back:
I had a stopped up drain in the shower so that I could only take a 2 minute shower before it would've started to flood. On the way out that morning, I explained the problem to the desk, and that evening when i returned it was already fixed.

Of the four times I stayed, only once I was given a room with an extremely small bathroom so that there is only 8" in front of the toilet because the wall is there. This makes for a very uncomfortable experience for a guy that is 6'2". I realized that this probably only happens on the rooms that are next to the elevators (109, 209, 309, 409, 509 & 609) because the bathroom is up against the elevator shaft and crammed in at an angle. I will avoid these room numbers in the future. In the other rooms I've stayed, I didn't experience this problem.

Some rooms have windows that face the street. At night is when the city likes to do construction projects, so you hear heavy equipment in the near-distance all night long.
Other rooms face an internal triangular shaped space full of air conditioning equipment and the windows of other rooms. You don't hear the construction as much, but if there are any parties, the sounds will bounce off the walls and will keep light sleepers awake.

There is no exercise room or equipment, and not much else in the hotel other than the lobby and the guest rooms.

That's pretty much it. I recommend it if you need to stay in Polanco and you don't want to spend $350/night like all the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

After reading the recent reviews, I had a lot of trepidation about staying here for 2 weeks while working nearby (I'd moved from a similar place near the Angel to be closer to our office). While I would rather have been at the W, Intercon or JW Marriott, all of which are nearby, I really couldn't complain.
My room - 316 - was large enough and recently refurbished. Everything was comfortable and clean, and there was a big new flatscreen TV with some HD channels. The staff were friendly (I speak Spanish), and the surrounding area is great. You're one block from the French embassy, a block from lovely Lincoln Park, and 2-3 blocks from the city's most glitzy shops.
Gripes: no wi-fi, so you have to use the 'business center' downstairs which has a couple of desktops, breakfast is a joke (mini-muffins, sunny delight and coffee laid out on a table near reception, and fyi, the Italian restaurant next door shuts at 7pm on Sundays. The restaurant is wonderful, and there's a side entrance from inside the hotel lobby - but you can't charge meals to your room.
To sum up: clean, friendly and perfectly adequate in a very fancy neighborhood. But if you're looking to treat yourself, look a bit more upmarket (and spend a bit more).

Room Tip: Interior rooms have no view, but may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Polanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polanco

Address: Edgar Allan Poe 8 | Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 283 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Polanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polanco Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Polanco Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Polanco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.