We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Polanco

Hotel Polanco
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Polanco to your Saves list
Hotel Polanco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Edgar Allan Poe 8 | Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 295 Hotels in Mexico City
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The hotel is well located in the Polanco area; it has few amenities but is good value for business and family visits to Mexico City.
Not suitable for a romantic getaway; location is good and the staff are very helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    12
    13
    7
See reviews for
4
5
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel was ideally located and an amazing value. The trip was split between business and pleasure and the hotel was perfectly located to explore the Polanco area of DF. Just a block away form Lincoln Park and the best plenty of resturaunts to choose from. The single room was clean, modern well maintained but the bathroom was just a little small.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have been travelling to Mexico city frequently. I have stayed at Intercontinental , Habitata , Nikko etc in the Polanco area. I had to stay for a longer time this time and tried Hotel Polanco as the prices were good for a longer stay. was initially hesitant to go there due to the negative reviews . But I tried it and worked fine. the hotel rooms are clean and staff are very friendly. Very safe and hotel arranged the needed facilities for my business needs. They have the bigger suites for US$20.00 additional which are spacious. I will certainly stay there on my next trip.

Room Tip: If you need print outs or scan their business office is open only from 8.00 am to 5.00 PM but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on business four different times an average of 4 nights each stay from March to Jun 2012.
The offices where I am working are close by, so I choose this hotel because of the convenience of being able to walk to the offices instead of taking a cab or bus.
I'm giving it three stars because it doesn't offer a whole lot other than a place to stay, but for being in the Polanco district, the pricing is pretty good.
The first time I stayed, I chose the Jr. Suite instead of the Single. For only $20/night more, to me it's worth it. It comes with an extra entry room, which isn't a big deal, except that it gives a little more space for your things, and allows you to spread things out if you need to do some work.

Okay, the good:
Location - It is only a few blocks from a very nice shopping and restaurant district, Hard Rock Cafe, and a couple of parks, and if you are going to a concert: the Auditorio Nacional. Within 5 blocks, there is virtually every kind of restaurant you can think of. The only problem is that the closest of these is probably 3-4 blocks, but it's not big deal. There is an Italian restaurant called La Bottiglia attached to the hotel, but I got tired of it pretty quickly.

The Rooms - They have LCD TVs (pretty much a standard now) but you need to pay a $20 deposit for the remote, wi-fi signal was pretty strong. You can see the wireless repeater antennae sticking out of some of the vents near the elevator and the far ends of the hallway....some of the middle rooms have a weaker signal, so try to stay on the ends of the hallways for the best signal.
The bed was firm, but comfortable. An iron is available if you call the front desk. The closet has an in-room safe, a small table for your luggage and hangers.
They are doing a remodeling project and it appears they've started remodeling from the top floor (6th) and are working their way down (currently they're working on the 4th floor). They're pretty much replacing bath fixtures and re-tiling around the sinks.

The service: It's average. Most are friendly, and when I needed something they were happy to help. There's a separate desk dedicated to calling for taxi service when needed, and one time they called a driver for me, explained to him that I wanted to visit the Torre LatinoAmérica on the way to the airport which required the driver to circle around the block for about 30 minutes while I ascended. I was a little nervous since I had some of my luggage in his trunk, but everything worked out great, and I paid him an extra 100 pesos for the inconvenience.

There are a few negatives of this hotel that I experienced, but nothing to keep me from coming back:
I had a stopped up drain in the shower so that I could only take a 2 minute shower before it would've started to flood. On the way out that morning, I explained the problem to the desk, and that evening when i returned it was already fixed.

Of the four times I stayed, only once I was given a room with an extremely small bathroom so that there is only 8" in front of the toilet because the wall is there. This makes for a very uncomfortable experience for a guy that is 6'2". I realized that this probably only happens on the rooms that are next to the elevators (109, 209, 309, 409, 509 & 609) because the bathroom is up against the elevator shaft and crammed in at an angle. I will avoid these room numbers in the future. In the other rooms I've stayed, I didn't experience this problem.

Some rooms have windows that face the street. At night is when the city likes to do construction projects, so you hear heavy equipment in the near-distance all night long.
Other rooms face an internal triangular shaped space full of air conditioning equipment and the windows of other rooms. You don't hear the construction as much, but if there are any parties, the sounds will bounce off the walls and will keep light sleepers awake.

There is no exercise room or equipment, and not much else in the hotel other than the lobby and the guest rooms.

That's pretty much it. I recommend it if you need to stay in Polanco and you don't want to spend $350/night like all the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

After reading the recent reviews, I had a lot of trepidation about staying here for 2 weeks while working nearby (I'd moved from a similar place near the Angel to be closer to our office). While I would rather have been at the W, Intercon or JW Marriott, all of which are nearby, I really couldn't complain.
My room - 316 - was large enough and recently refurbished. Everything was comfortable and clean, and there was a big new flatscreen TV with some HD channels. The staff were friendly (I speak Spanish), and the surrounding area is great. You're one block from the French embassy, a block from lovely Lincoln Park, and 2-3 blocks from the city's most glitzy shops.
Gripes: no wi-fi, so you have to use the 'business center' downstairs which has a couple of desktops, breakfast is a joke (mini-muffins, sunny delight and coffee laid out on a table near reception, and fyi, the Italian restaurant next door shuts at 7pm on Sundays. The restaurant is wonderful, and there's a side entrance from inside the hotel lobby - but you can't charge meals to your room.
To sum up: clean, friendly and perfectly adequate in a very fancy neighborhood. But if you're looking to treat yourself, look a bit more upmarket (and spend a bit more).

Room Tip: Interior rooms have no view, but may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The price is low, compared with the luxury skyscrappers in the surrounding neighborhoods, and there is a good reason for that. This hotel looks very provincial and badly needs renovation.
The hotel has an Internet site, providing online reservations. However, I am not sure that anybody noticed the reservation that I placed and prepaid. Fortunately enough a suitable room was found.
With all that the room was clean and the staff polite. The neighborhood is green and quiet, probably one of the best one can find in the city.
Internet connection was free and fast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

This was my third time staying at the Polanco and was possibly the worst. My room had a tiny, backdated, poorly designed bathroom. I could not sit in the toilet without banging my nees with the lavatory.
The room was not clean, had pubic hairs in the sheets, and had a "dirty" smell.

Location is great, restaurant is good, but the overall experience is very poor.
I hope I never stay there again-

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico City
Polanco
Alteza Polanco
Alteza Polanco
#187 of 295 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Residencia Polanco
#227 of 295 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Obelisk Residencial
#216 of 295 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Colonial
#230 of 295 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Las Suites
#61 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Residence L'Heritage
#88 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polanco

Address: Edgar Allan Poe 8 | Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 295 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Polanco 3*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Polanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polanco Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Polanco Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Polanco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.