We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Term lodging...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marlowe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marlowe to your Saves list
Hotel Marlowe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Independencia, 17, Mexico City 06050, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Mexico
1 review
“Short Term lodging...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

My family (including 2 boys ages 6 and 8) stayed here for 3 nights. It's a great location for the historic district of Mexico City. It is basically quite at night, but we did experience lots of noise from some fireworks coming from the "china town" district that is located 1/2 block away. (It was Chinese New Year). I would recommend this hotel for those needing a one/two night hotel to see the historic area. The rooms are basically for sleeping only, no extra room to spread out or relax. Front desk staff were ambivalent, but the dining staff were great.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    92
    44
    9
    9
See reviews for
38
56
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

This was one of the lower priced hotels for an International Conference and stayed 6 days. I felt it was good value, clean rooms, comfortable, enough amenities and good buffet breakfast with fruit, juices, cereals, breads and hot dishes was included in price. It is close to two metro lines, and walking distance to Zocola, many local cafes in surrounding streets. It was quiet - yes some pipe noise but no worse than many places and wasn't a problem. I would definitely stay here again. Mahamati

  • Liked — clean, econimical, good venue, secure
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

I stayed in this hotel for about one week in September. The outside of the hotel looks unassuming, but once you enter the front doors you quickly realize that this is a quality hotel: marble floors, spotless front desk, nice lobby furniture. This was a happy surprise because given how moderate the price of the room was, it could have been the opposite in terms of quality. The room itself was also nice:good solid-wood furniture, good quality bedsheets, pillows, and towels. The bathroom was large and had marble floors. If you are in Mexico City on business and you have a laptop, there is free wireless internet access in the rooms. I had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and the portions were generous. The hotel is only four blocks away from the Zocalo and one block away from the Palacio de Bellas Artes. There are numerous restaurants and shops nearby. You can walk to the Zona Rosa in just 15 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2006

We felt comfortable in this hotel. It was clean; we even had a bedspread looking just washed ( a rare thing).

It is true the pipes are noisy; but earplugs took care of this.

However, the wall were dirty, the furniture badly scuffed. The bathroom was in much better condition, however.

The restaurant has enough for breakfast (buffet only) although at 60 pesos it is a bit steep if you eat light. But it is convenient and pleasing; and I did not find better nearby. Note: there was a tour from France one morning and they had French fare for breakfast (beef bourguignon).

Conclusion: a decent, good enough address.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — the room lacked
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2005

We were supposed to stay at Hotel Roble, but our taxidriver would not recommend us to stay there, and he recommended Hotel Marlowe instead. A dobleroom for 460 PESO pr. night without breakfast. The hotel had a very nice lobby, but otherwise a impersonal businesstype hotel The staff spoke a little english. Safe in the reception, a gym, restaurant and travelagency. The room was clean, with tv, telephone, bath. The only complain we have: the wather pipes from neighbouring rooms were VERY noisy, and woke me up every morning.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marlowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marlowe

Address: Independencia, 17, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marlowe 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marlowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlowe Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Marlowe Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marlowe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.