We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marlowe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marlowe to your Saves list
Hotel Marlowe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Independencia, 17, Mexico City 06050, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Sterling, Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hotel Marlowe is conveniently located one block from the Alameda Central Jardin and nine blocks from the main Zocalo. The front desk staff was friendly and courteous. The room was clean with a very nice bathroom. Internet connectivity was good and there was a new flat screen TV. The hotel had a purified drinking water tap in the bathroom. The room didn't have a view. But, that was not a priority. Your room rates will depend on your choice of a room with a fan or one with air conditioning.

I can’t attest to the noise level of this downtown hotel. Our stay occurred during the Chinese New Year. There were fire crackers and revelers in streets during the night. We still managed to sleep well in a good bed with extra pillows available.

The hotel has a restaurant. However, we elected to eat at several local establishments one block to the East. If you need to purchase bus tickets, there is an OXXO that sells them on the corner from the hotel.

I was very pleased that the night staff was available at 5:30 AM to get us a cab. Overall, this was a good hotel experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    92
    44
    9
    9
See reviews for
38
56
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel as a recommendation from a Mexican friend. It is located very close to the Palacio de Bellas Artes and a couple of metro stations. The neighborhood is not fancy at all, in fact, it's a little scary at night with some bumps and trash in the streets but at least, I never experienced a robbery or any other dangerous situation during the days we stayed there. Besides that, the service was alright, as well as the rooms and the restaurant. I can say the interior facilities were a little old and may need to be improved but for the cost per night. The best thing about staying here was the great breakfast offered across the street, in a small cafe. The quality of juices and food was outstanding for an absolutely fair price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by a travel agent who said that it was strategically placed and a safe starting place for our trip. Let's just say that we arrived at night starving and so we ventured out in this allegedly well-lit and populated area. If you consider homeless drunks population and dark streets fitting of this description, then it is accurate. As we were walking down poorly lit streets with nobody around, it occurred to me that this was exactly what two females were warned NOT to do. We were lucky enough to find two local gendarmes who took a liking to us and directed us to a cafe where we were able to get a solid meal very cheaply. Then we managed to get back to the hotel by OTHER gendarmes driving us back. The room was adequate, at best.
Therefore, I would say this: If you need a place to stay, this is okay, but don't plan on going out at night from here, or expect luxury.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The rooms are small but clean and a bit worn. My window faced a wall, which was probably good in that it limited noise. Many reviewers reported that the staff is unfriendly. Not my experience, but indifferent certainly. If you need to save $ it is acceptable and the location is good for the historic center, but street where the hotel is located is not so pleasant - for a few $ more you can do better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed one week in this hotel. Reception staff has no interest whatsoever in catering to the guest. In fact, they seem annoyed if you approach the reception desk. Room cleaning needs much improvement vis-a-vis promptness. Twice we had to wait at 4 pm for the room to be cleaned. Restaurant staff is pretty much clueless about waiting tables and is more interested in watching soccer on the TV which has no business in a dining room. Elevators terrible. You can wait forever for it to arrive. When we checked out, we had to look for our own taxi as bellhop was too busy talking to the reception staff did not so much as thank us for our stay. Do not recommend this hotel and would never stay there again

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Marlowe in 2009 and it was great; this time it was also very good. The location is superb, the staff always helpful and the rooms clean, comfortable and quiet.Highly recommended. And yes, the shower was fabulous- it even had a good view!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is located centrally, near Almeda Central, Mexico City's historic center with Zocalo, and the modern area of Reforma. The rest of the city is easily accessible via Metro (Hidalgo is one of the convenient stations). The hotel was fine, the room clean and the service as expected. The inner yard view from the window (room 301) was not amazing, in fact it felt like observing the bottom of a rocket silo (I got sunlight, but not sunshine).
The immediate neighborhood was ok. Av. Independencia offered a range of eateries (stuffed with locals), minimarkets, coffees and other shops. Burger King, KFC, and Starbucks were located on the other side of the block. I definitely felt connected to the authentic street life, but on the safe side.
On the way back, I took hotel car to the airport. The ride was fine and slightly cheaper (160) than authorized airport taxi I took after arrival.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marlowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marlowe

Address: Independencia, 17, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marlowe 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marlowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlowe Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Marlowe Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marlowe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.