We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal La Buena Vida

Hostal La Buena Vida
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal La Buena Vida to your Saves list
Hostal La Buena Vida
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Mazatlan 190, Mexico City 06170, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This review is for the 8 person dorm.

Positives:
1. Beds are very comfortable with comforters, blanket, cushy pillow and small ornamental pillow.
2. Bathrooms are clean.
3. Housekeeping staff keeps rooms and bathrooms spotless.
4. Individual small reading light and an outlet at the head of each bed.
5. Individual wifi router for each room.

Neutral:
1. It's a quiet area of Condesa, so if you're looking for a chill, quiet hostal, this is a good choice. If you're looking to party, you will be disappointed.
2. Lockers have pre-set combinations. While this is good if you don't have a lock, the combinations only have 3 numbers so if someone was really determined, any locker could be opened in less than an hour.
3. Breakfast: 4 choices of cereal, coffee, juice, toast.

Negatives:
1. The way the shower is set up in the dorm keeps you from having much privacy. You basically have to walk out in all your natural glory in order to get to your towel.
2. Price is more than other hostals in town, but not exorbitant. Considering the amenities the price is about right.
3. The 8 person dorm had no curtains on the window. There was a large tree outside that blocked the view of anyone looking in while still allowing light into the room. However, at night you still can't avoid the feeling that you could be watched if someone was determined.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hostel is nice enough. Everything is very clean and well-kept but the ambiance just isn't there. I was there in mid-march and the hostel was an absolute ghost town. I went to another hostel 2 days later and it was much more active. No one was here aside from an Australian student I met who confirmed that before I got there he hadn't seen anyone else. The meeting/group area wasn't to inviting either.

The area can be a little sketchy at night but also very fun. Be sure to ask at the front desk. He told me which areas to avoid and fun areas to meet other young travelers. So while the area can be fun if you know where to go, the hostel itself wasn't much of a social hostel. I wouldn't mind going here with a group of friends but if I was traveling alone I definitely would not come here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

La Buena vida! This is a chill hostel located in Condesa. The Patriotismo subway stop is just a nice 5 minute walk away, and at night there are plenty of cool restaurants and bars nearby. This isn't a party hostel, but there are still opportunity's to make friends. I met some really great people there! Also the staff are extremely helpful, I wish I could give them a high five right now. Book this hostel and give everyone high fives! You wont be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at Hostal La Buena Vida for a couple of nights during easter 2013 at the end of my trip to Mexico. The hostel was nice in itself. The entire building is very artsy and fancy. Also, it is cleaned every day leaving it absolutely spotless. Adding to it, I felt very safe in the hostel.

However, the hostel charges double the price as other hostels with the same or better service. For that, it is not worth the price. For instance, the breakfast was the poorest I had on my entire trip to Mexico, the kitchen was not for guests' use since the closets and fridge were locked, there are no curtains in the rooms, and the one I stayed in was exceptionally noisy because it was located next to a main road. Also, I stayed in a female only dorm. However, the last night a guy came in at 11:30 PM. We solved it out, but it made me feel uncomfortable.

So I'd recommend you find another hostel with better value unless you are very much into staying in artsy, new places and not so much into socializing, good breakfasts etc.

Room Tip: I'd recommend you get an inside room since the outside one I stayed in (La Parca) was very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I would recommend this one highly for the following reasons:

First the location is the best, the neighbourhood of La Condesa is the place to be in terms of food, ambiance, nightlife and you have a very close access to the metro in order to move within the city.

The hostel is sparkling clean, the cleaning service is at the height of a hotel. They change your bed every day and clean the room perfectly.

It's true that it's not a cheap hostel, but Mexico City is anyway more expensive than the rest of the country.

The breakfast is ok, nothing luxurious but fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Highly recommended - very friendly people, clean, comfortable, safe, and price isn't bad (~ $USD 20-24/night). There are mixed and female-only dorms. It was nearly empty when I was there in June 2012, probably because it's still nearly new, a little more expensive than older hostels, and Condesa isn't where most tourists flock towards (but is my favorite Mexico City neighborhood).

The location is perfect - walking distance to all of Condesa & Roma, Paseo de la Reforma, Zona Rosa, Chapultepec Park, and Parque Mexico. There is very easy metro access to Coyoacan, the Centro, and airport, and easy Metrobus (bus rapid transit) access to San Angel. The few extra pesos per night compared to most DF hostels more than make up for not having to stay in the tourist nightmares of the Centro or Zona Rosa (my opinion, obviously).

Bathrooms & rooms cleaned very well daily. Laundry on site (pay at the front desk). Combination lockers in each room. Nice common area on the top floor with computers, Wifi, lounge areas, TV, patio. There's a 7-11 a block away for water, beer, and snacks, plus restaurants, shops, and bars all over nearby.

It's a bit hard to find the first time, even with the crazy colorful lights at night - bring good directions and a map, especially if you're coming on the Metro.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A freind and I stayed here in early June. Had been open only 5 months. We were only two in a room for 4 and it cost each of us $22 a night. Very modern and interesting and clean. On top floor there are computers to use and where you fix your breakfast. Good location and within walking ditance of parks and restaurants with a restaurant next door.

Room Tip: They have a website with photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal La Buena Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Buena Vida

Address: Mazatlan 190, Mexico City 06170, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Buena Vida 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal La Buena Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Buena Vida Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal La Buena Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.