We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option for vegans and non” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saks Polanco

Saks Polanco
Campos Eliseos 133, Mexico City, Mexico (Centro)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 1,783 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent option for vegans and non”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Several options for vegans and vegetarians, not a turn down for the rest since there are a couple of options as steak or chicken but definitely not a steak house.

Salads are good, main dishes are excellent although I've been here a few times in the past and the menu still the same so after a few visits could get boring, chef should renew the menu so it offers new experiences to old customers.

Service is good, you can spend your meal either outside on the terraza or inside if crowded.

I recommend the Saks salad, cactus timbal so good, the tuna steak with hummus is a good option that usually is ok but today I could tell that it was not that fresh probably it was frozen and it was placed at the grill directly, the texture was not right they should pay attention to this kind of details if you go for this tell the waiter to pass the message to the chef to make it right or go for the salmon that is good too.

At the table they place a basket with a variety of sliced bread that goes pretty good with the salads and main courses.

Tamarind margarita is great!

Price is around 750 mxn with tip included for 2 persons with drinks (salads and main course)



  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    24
    25
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Food and Re(laxed) Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went to this restaurant to celebrate my husband's birthday. He chose it himself because he read that the food was good for vegetarians. This was true and he really enjoyed his dishes. We normally struggle when we visit Mexico, but this time he had plenty of choice.

We had a table in the terrace, but I was not completely happy. When I booked it over the phone, I didn't realise the terrace was right next to the street. At rush hour it can get a little noisy and it is not such a nice view.

My husband thought the service was relaxed whilst I thought it was laxed. The waiter forgot to bring the menu in English and we had to remind him. He also brought a glass of a different wine than the one we had ordered. My mum had the mixiote and it was cold. She had to ask for it to be reheated. The same with her capuccino - it was cold. The service was friendly, but I would have hoped for it to be more professional.

To summarise, the food was good (great for vegetarians) but perhaps the service needs to step up a notch. I would recommend this place, but with so many other good restaurants in Mexico City, I am not sure I would go back too soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a lovely atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My favorite meal at Saks is their salmon filet with asparagus with balsamic sauce. Delicious! Also the cheese & fruit plate with their variety of bread is wonderful. The atmosphere is pleasant, and there is often live music that's not overwhelming. Their version of claricot (a wine & fruit cocktail) is very good. We have enjoyed our dining experience every time we have eaten there!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico DF
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Saks tries to give their menu a healthy / exotic (for Mexico) twist, they seem to have achieved a standard of production in their kitchen which is rare.

I really like their enfrijoladas (chicken or cheese inside folded tortillas bathed in a bean sauce), it never fails to hit the spot with the nice bread and cheese spread they serve. The ambience is a little family oriented, your fellow diners will be middle class ladies gossiping, the blue hair brigade and bureaucrats - so nothing to write home about.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Saks Was So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had walked past Saks many times on my way someplace else. My friend suggested a brunch there, so I went.

What I liked:
-The carrot cake cupcake was awesome. Ask for it if they bring the bread tray and it's not there.
-The mimosas are yummy.
-My son liked the pancakes--which are not on the menu, but you can ask the waiter and the chef will make them.
-Lots of vegetarian options, thus making it a great place to bring anyone!
-Like the patio dining. There's also a room available for office parties inside.
-Plenty of valet parking
-Location near the Polanco hotel district

Potential Improvements:
-Slow service

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saks Polanco also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Saks Polanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saks Polanco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.