We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximo Bistrot Local

Maximo Bistrot Local
Tonala 133 | Colonia Roma, Mexico City, Mexico (Centro)
01-55-5264-4291
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maximo Bistrot Local is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #150 of 2,354 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $310 - $500
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Centro
Cross street: Entre Guanajuato y Queretaro
Transit: Estamos a 2 cuadras de la estacion de Metrobus Alvaro Obregon.
scottsdale, az
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a reservation for 7PM (yes that is very early by Mexico standards) on a Thursday night.......we were promptly seated at an outside table.....and when the waiters saw us struggling with the Spanish menu.....a terrific waiter with impeccable English was sent over to assist us..... After splitting the Mixta salad which was terrific....my partner had a gnocci dish with shrimp and I had a chicken entrée with mushrooms in a basil sauce which was AWESOME !!! Honestly.... one of the best meals I have ever had anywhere............can't wait to return......

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    55
    36
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
395 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Loved it! Owners are so warm and inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It was a raining a lot in the city, so as a walk in we were able to get a table and the place was empty due to many cancelled reservations. Strange for a Friday night.

Servers were very friendly, professional.

The owners personally treated us, the wife works the tables, the husband is the chef.

We decided to build our own tasting menu, ordered many plates and instructed for them to come one after another, so we all shared one plate at a time, a couple of bites, and onto the next.

Got to sample around 10 dishes in all, from appetizers, to seafood, pasta and meat dishes, paired with local craft beer, Mexican wine and strong coffee with desert. After dinner drinks.

Chef invited us into kitchen, showed us fresh ingredients, cooking styles.

Fantastic owner couple.

This place is small, quaint more substance than hype, food is delicious, cooked with care, priced right.

I enjoy this authentic experience. I wish the best for hard working owners.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great experience to try a new version of Mexican French food great atmosphere and service. Eduardo Garcia surprises you with a menu that changes every week. Located in the north Roma part of town the new up and coming part of town

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Split Decision”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife loved it, my friends lauded it, I deplored it. So split decision. First of all, the greeter and wait service need training in humanity. They are so high on their reviews and so crowded because of them they are committing what could become a fatal flaw -- they are taking their customers for granted, either ignoring them or not being friendly our outgoing. It is called "attitude" in many countries. In my view the entrées were a testament to them, not to cuisine, but as noted, my wife and friends enjoyed, I pouted.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After 4 years in Mexico the verdict is out: Maximo Bistro is by far the best restaurant experience in Mexico. No, you can't make reservations during the weekend and you'll have to wait at least 30 minutes to get a table. Yes, the style of the restaurant is unassuming, almost no decoration, no frills here. But this restaurant is all about the FOOD (luckily) and everything on the menu is really excellent, delicious and very fresh. The chef-owner and his lovely wife are always in the restaurant, a great team, good service but above all heavenly food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maximo Bistrot Local also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Maximo Bistrot Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximo Bistrot Local, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.