We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW what a surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximo Bistrot Local

Maximo Bistrot Local
Tonala 133 | Colonia Roma, Mexico City, Mexico (Centro)
01-55-5264-4291
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maximo Bistrot Local is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #151 of 2,308 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $310 - $500
Cuisines: Mexican, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Centro
Cross street: Entre Guanajuato y Queretaro
Transit: Estamos a 2 cuadras de la estacion de Metrobus Alvaro Obregon.
PV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WOW what a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What's NOT to like!? The ambience was very charming, a corner bistro -- inside and outside dining. Service was efficient but not burdensome. A small wine list but quite good. Started with the mussels -- perhaps the very best I've ever had the privilege to eat -- succulent, cooked to perfection, amazing! The dry aged steak was delicious. But the most incredible part was the rhubarb tart dessert! I don't usually eat much desserts, but this was no doubt the best dessert I've EVER had! Incredible, outstanding, delectible ... there just not enough adjectives to properly describe how amazing it was.

Thank you Maximo Bistrot -- I will DEFINITELY be back!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    54
    34
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los gatos
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This neighborhood bistro is a young couple's very fine venture. They are cooking European style dishes incorporating Mexican herbs, spices and flavorings. My partner had raviolis filled with huitlecoche, the corn fungus. I had lechon, roast leg of suckling pig served with polenta. Excellent! Wish I could have had more meals here. Informal, popular neighborhood eatery, and well deserving of the accolades it is receiving.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
99 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our first experience of Mexican cuisine on our first night in Mexico City. We had been travelling for hours and hours and just wanted something quickly before going to bed. Our host suggested Maximo which was close by - what a good suggestion! Luckily they had one table available and we could get 3 chairs round it.

It is a cool neighbourhood bistro, the staff really friendly and not a word of english! The food was superb. The ceviche robalo (150 peso) was delectable and so tender as indeed was the escolar cebolla (180), a very light white fish with mash and tiny strips of apple and bacony oil. The red grouper (240) was delicious, just a little heavier.

It seemed very good value coming from UK where such good food would probably be more expensive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
159 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“What a great little restaurant with 5 * food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We loved our dining experience here. The restaurant is small, but very personal. You can see into the kitchen. Chef owner came out several times to help us. No English menu. He was very attentive and eager to please. Offered us a pigeon course that was not on the menu. The food was delicious and special and just the perfect portion size. The atmosphere of the restaurant was very friendly. I would consider the cooking high end and interesting. Small, but good wine list with decent prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very nice kept secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

It is not elegant but has a great charm. Very good food. Try the Burrata. The selection of wines is modest and very acceptable prices, they have nice Mexican ones. The dessert was also excellent. Price quality is above average.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maximo Bistrot Local also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Maximo Bistrot Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximo Bistrot Local, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.