We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wine and small dishes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mat

Le Mat
Emilio Castelar 149 | Colonia Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Centro)
55 52 81 19 62
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #331 of 1,811 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent wine and small dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Walking by Emilio Castelar park in polanco, this is a place you have to stop by and see, it looks like a giant house and shop, and it actually is.

The restaurant has an amazing terrace across the park and its well served and fully staffed. Their wine selection is quite good and you should definately try the small hamburguers as a startup plate.

Creme brulee amazing!!

L.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent terrace in front of a beautiful park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a beautiful terrace just in front of Parque Linconl in Polanco.
You can enjoy the place even when it rains because the terrace is covered with sliding roof.
The desserts are incredible, Chai Crème brûlée or Ginger Custard.
Don't forget to try the duck served over mashed yams, it's amazing!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Place, normal food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location and the setting is really nice.

The service was not that good even when I was there with a regular customer.

Food was good but not outstanding, perhaps I need a second try, still it is not one of those places I would try to go back really quick.

Besides Polanco is always full of great Restaurants that don´t need second chances ;)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“beautiful and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I love this place, first, the location is amazing, specially on a sunny day, you have the park right in front, with kids on bikes and roller skates, people walking their dogs.
The service is really good, but the food is outstanding!. The grilled artichoke, mini hamburgers, the crab legs, everything is really good, have a leechy margarita. The desserts are yummy also

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Pretty location for a drink, go elsewhere for food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We were wandering aimlessly around Polanco, an area that has an abundance of many extremely good restaurants, when we came upon Le Mat which my daughter had heard about and as the pretty terrace over-looked a park and the weather was perfect so we decided to stop and eat. The menu reads very well, slightly pretentious comfort food, but the execution was just not there, several dishes were either luke warm, salty, dry and re-heated and for what we had: EXPENSIVE. We have found a constant problem over the years in restaurants spending all their money on location or decoration and not spending it where it needs spending: IN THE KITCHEN !!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mat also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Le Mat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.