We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST RESTAURANT SERVICE EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Bar Terraza

Restaurante Bar Terraza
Av. 16 de Septiembre # 82 | Gran Hotel Ciudad de la Ciudad de Mexico, Mexico City, Mexico
01800-088-7700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 2,196 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nezahualcóyotl, Mexico, Mexico
1 review
“BEST RESTAURANT SERVICE EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My experience in this place was outstanding the service they provide was professional perfect handling and also perfect bilingue skill floor manager OSCAR ROJAS perform perfect english skill who also Mr.Claudio general manager approach our table just to make sure we were taking care of thank you so much. sincerely Jonathan E Vargas

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Our Safe Observation Platform in Mexico City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

When our family arrived in Mexico City and checked in to the Gran Hotel Ciudad, we felt a bit shy about exploring the city streets near the Zocalo straight away so we headed up to the Terraza Bar and Restaurante on the roof of the hotel to wind down.

That was a great decision, because not only do you get a great perspective of the lie of the land around the Zocalo, but the scenery is amazingly beautiful from the open-air terrace.

The staff were fantastic, spoke very good English and made us feel totally at ease sitting there soaking up our surroundings. We ended up staying for 4 hours, ordering cocktails and dinner and just relaxing and getting good tips from the staff (especially Oscar) about local places to visit. The prices were very comparable with every other meal we had over our 3 weeks in Mexico.

It was a very good place to acclimatise ourselves with the buzzing metropolis that is Mexico City.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great views, average dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I visited this restaurant with clients on July 27, 2013. The view of Zocalo, Cathedral and National Palace was excellent. I would say that there is not a better view of the square anywhere in the area. However, the restaurant and service was average. Drink and appetizer orders were taken within a reasonable timeframe, however it took a long time to receive them. We had to request drink refills throughout the entire meal. Appetizers were queso, salads, corn chowder and taquitos and all were good, but not remarkable. Shame that grasshoppers and worm salsa need to be added to the dishes to make them "unique". We all ordered beef in one form or another for our main course, but each portion was significantly under or overlooked to our specifications. One plate needed to be sent back to the kitchen. We ordered several desserts to share, but were told the chocolate volcano would take 12 minutes. Other desserts came at 20 minutes and we had to get the chocolate volcano to go at 30 minutes, as we needed to head to the airport. Waitress was friendly, but we simply didn't receive the white glove service one would expect from this caliber of establishment. Would return for the view, but with much lower expectations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“If in Mexico City, Sunday brunch here is a must !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The food is incredible, the view outstanding and the service excellent. Try all kinds of Mexican food overlooking the Cathedral and all other important buildings around the Zócalo. This brunch goes from 09h00 to 18h00 Saturdays and Sundays.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“A must go...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

I went after my trip to Teotihuacan. I ordered some wine and meat tacos. The tacos were so good that I had to order a second plate. The place is romantic and simply pleasant. In addition, the prices are very reasonable.

The view of Zocalo square is perfect. This place is a true gem. I look forward to returning someday.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Bar Terraza also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Restaurante Bar Terraza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Bar Terraza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.