We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Cristo

Monte Cristo
Insurgentes Norte 1980, Col. Lindavista, Mexico City 07300, Mexico
+52 55 5577 9262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,743 restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice setting and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton and this restaurant is pretty far away from there. We wanted to eat there due to the great reviews. The setting, the restaurant itself and the service are nice. The drinks are good. I was not too impressed with the food. We had chicken, that was not special, spare ribs pork that was Ok, Shrimp in Mole sauce (not really impressed with this, it is very salty) and some other shrimp. Just be aware what you are ordering. . Deserts were great.Still would recommend to go here

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    19
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Typical Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Went to this restaurant for lunch with some colleagues. The food was totally AWESOME...and authentic. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are searching for a true Mexican upscale restaurant (not your typical taco stand type restaurant). They make the dipping sauces in front of you to your liking...mild to extremely hot! The tortillas are made by hand and various different corn styles. I had a grilled Red Snapper Fish which was so delicious that I ate every morsal I could stripe away from the fish.... Definitely a must if in Mexico!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“You have to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a beautiful place located at the north in Mexico City. It is and ancient house with excellent maintenance, but the better is the food and the service (not in this order necessarily).
The waiters know their jobs, they memorize the menu and can suggest you many things. The food quality is great and the flavor too. There is a lady offering "salsas molcajeteadas" that she prepare besides your table, you "have to" try one of those.
The environment is so relaxing with the piano music and the quiet surroundings (you cannot believe you are a few meters away of one of the busiest avenues in Mexico City).
Go, you will not regret the trip to that place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“The best hacienda style restaurant in northern DF on the way to pyramids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I have eaten at Monte Cristo once and recommend it very highly. So does Chef Rick Bayless of TV fame to anyone who wants to try a traditional Mexican food or modern versions of traditional Mexican food. When we were there we talked two separate groups of who had come to the restaurant to celebrate birthdays and other special events. They said that this is a destination restaurant with the vast majority of diners driving some distance to eat there on special occasions. The locals who we talked to had traveled all the way across town from, more affluent areas such as Polanco, Condesa, or other similar areas of DF. They seemed genuinely surprised that my father and I being obvious tourists had found this place.

Here is a summary of our dining experience. To start with they have both light and dark beer on draft, Pulque natural or flavored with fruit, and thy also brought an included appetizer which was excellently prepared very small say 1/2 inch crisp fried lake fish similal to what I have eaten near lake Patzcuro with a homemade version of a salsa that I thought tasted similar to the bottled Amor brand hot sauce but with more subtitle and fresher flavors. I enjoyed the natural pulque which is an Aztec drink consisting of unfiltered fermented maguey with an alcohol content similar to beer and not the least bit sweet but rather very tangy and yeasty as it should be. I like the natural pulque but would suggest a flavored version to anyone who is not familiar to pulque for their first experience as it may be an acquired taste to like the unflavored natural version.

For starters we ordered the smoked fish quesadillas which had a more fancy name on the menu. They were excellent comparable to ones served in the finer restaurants in Tijuana and Ensenada in Baja California. We also had some very good suckling pig soft tacos with borrachera and arbol chile salsas that were also excellently prepared being very flavorful weith just the right amount of heat from chile for my personal taste.

The main courses were also great. I had one of the best Chiles en Nogada that I have had it was traditionally prepared and served correctly at near room temperature. The 2 poblano chiles were covered with a flavorful light tasting cream sauce containing a hint of walnut cream liquor, fresh pomegranate seeds, walnuts, and, then stuffed with lightly spiced picadillo meat. I would suggest asking questions about anything on the menu that you do not know what is since many of the ingredients are traditional and may be referred to by their Aztec or local name that many persons outside of the local region are not familiar with even if they speak Spanish fluently.

For desert I had a wonderful soursop tart on black zapote pool and coffee. The tart had a great tropical fruit flavor tasting mostly of soursop more commonly known as cherimoya in the US and complemented with the richer taste of the black zapote sauce placed under the tart. The meringue topping and the cookie type tart crust complemented the tropical fruit flavors and the desert was one of the more memorable deserts I have had recently.

In summary I am writing this review 2 months after visiting the restaurant so my descriptions are not as detailed as if I had written them right after the visit, but just the fact I remember specifics of the food two months after eating there represents how good the food really was. I really enjoyed the place and plant to return possibly even multiple times on my next trip to DF. Next time I go I plan to try the freshly prepared to you liking salsa cart Rick Bayless raves about. We saw it in action and the ingredients were definitely top notch as was the presentation of preparing the salsa. The service was very good approaching excellent however for the American it may be a little too quick and attentive with plates being removed faster than you may be accustomed to in the US. Also remember in Mexico it is not the custom to rush diners so depending on the restaurant and their policies you may need to ask for some things you need such as placing your order and especially for the bill at the end of the meal. Also it is not impolite to gesture to the waiters when you need something.

The Monte Cristo restaurant is located in an unlikely place located within a short walking distance of the Indios Verdes Metro station and a bit farther from the corresponding Metrobus Station. To walk there you need to be very adventurous and walk south say a ¼ mile possibly through a huge local bus station and medium sized local market to get to the street Insurgentes Norte from the station in a working class part of town. If you know Mexico City (DF) well you may be surprised that one of the best converted old hacienda restaurants in the city is located here on Insurgentes Norte which one of the main roads to the pyramids in an area most people think of as industrial and not deluxe at all. If you take a taxi get off Insurgentes Norte at the Ticomán exit, immediately turn left over the overpass to the other side of Insurgentes and make the first U turn possible heading back towards the overpass. On your left there is a big sign that says Monte Cristo the restaurant is located behind the sign on the frontage road about ½ block south where you enter through the entryway to the secured parking lot surrounded by the same brick wall the sign is on.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Cristo also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Monte Cristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Cristo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.