We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable, safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Suites DF

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hostel Suites DF to your Saves list
Hostel Suites DF
Calle Jesus Teran, 38 | Colonia Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable, safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was a really good option in Mexico City. I stayed here three times overall, twice with a friend and once on my own, in both a private room and a dorm. It was clean, comfortable and the staff were really helpful. Its not in the best area, but the walk into the centre is fine. The breakfast is really nice, and the women that cook it are lovely. Its thoughtful how they cook something different every day. My friend arrived in Mexico from London and this was the first place she stayed with me and I think it was a good, safe introduction for a slightly nervous traveller! The main thing I took from my stay here was how nice the staff were, and its this that would ensure my return if I am ever in Mexico City again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
22
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

First and foremost, the location is ideal, you can get to most of the major sites and museums with a little walk in either direction, and if you don't like walking, the Hidalgo metro station is just round the corner. I had a room to myself until late in the evening and it was very clean, well aired and spacious...couldn't really ask for much more. The staff on the front desk were all very helpful and the communal areas are nice and chilled. Well worth a stay at the price.

In terms of getting around a bit further afield, I didn't have any concerns on the Metro despite my initial reservations, I would just suggest keeping yourself on lockdown just in case (i.e. and bag zips around your front and hands in pockets). In all seriousness its so cheap and easy, you really do not have to take tours to places like the Basilica, Frida Kahlos house, or Xochimilco (thanks for the spelling google). I haven't got round to writing a review of it yet but if you need advice on how to get to Teotihuacan from Mexico City, by all means send me a note.

Room Tip: The Wifi range doesn't reach to the upper floors so if its a necessity to get online in your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hostel is well located, near downtown (30 minutes walking to Templo Mayor archeological site) and to the Paseo de La Reforma Ave. Staff very courteous! No elevator in the building, but they kindly helped me with my heavy bag. Breakfast is good and included in the daily rate.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My partner and i stayed in a private room for 3 days. Our room was on the 4th floor. There were no lifts, so be prepared to carry backpacks up multiple of flights. The kitchen staff were very nice and fed you well. The reception staff were also very friendly and helpful. The only thing that may damper your stay is that sometimes staff or backpackers may stay up late partying, unfortunately the noise from the kitchen carries through. If you are staying on levels 1,2, & 3, you are very likely to hear the noise. Otherwise, the hostel is worth your dollar, comfortable beds, clean toilets and bathrooms and HOT water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Well maybe that's a mild exaggeration but they really looked after us well here. All the staff were great, couldn't do enough for us and were really helpful with advice on places to go and how to get there. Special mention has to go the kitchen staff, two lovely sisters who took us under their wing and were really understanding of my dietary requirements. Great breakfasts.
The common areas were good, it was reasonably social without being crazy and walkable from the centre as well as being close to a metro line. Can't comment on the dorms but both our private rooms were great for the price, though the mattresses need to be changed as there was certainly some dips and broken springs. But you get what you pay for and at Hostel Suites DF, you really get quite a bit.

Room Tip: I think the private rooms are the best option - higher up are quieter but be prepared to tackle the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

clean hostel, useful services for backpackers and the lady Faviola from the reception was really nice and helpfull. the breakfast was good too.
The location is close to hidalgo metro station and easy to tour this interesting city

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you're young and want to stay up drinking, yelling, smoking inside the Hostel and partying until well after midnight with the Hostel staff - in complete disregard for the other Hostel guests then this is your type of place.

We found the owner and staff very friendly helpful and no other issues with the running of this place.

Room Tip: choose well away from the stair-well or near reception area if your sensitive to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Suites DF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Suites DF

Address: Calle Jesus Teran, 38 | Colonia Tabacalera, Mexico City 06030, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, cozy, design hostel located very close to Mexico City’s downtown, close to public transportation and tourist attractions. Our goal is you to have the best home experience. We serve breakfast every day and we give you personal attention. Tours and activities can be customized depending on your mood, budget and lifestyle. You are very welcome to be part of our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Suites DF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Suites DF Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Suites DF, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.