We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy restaurant, nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosetta

Rosetta
Colima 166, Col. Roma Norte | Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
01 55 5533 7804
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosetta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #121 of 2,425 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Nice restaurant for a nice long dinner. Nice wine list, good food, friendly service. The homemade bread is amazing! Just very packed the place, everybody is so close together.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    63
    21
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico DF
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I live in Mexico City, so beleive me I know the restaurants here. Rosetta should be ranked in the top 10 in the city, the food is amazing, the place is fun and cozy, and it is located in one of the nicest areas in Mexico. The only problem is that it is so famous that getting a reservation is complicated. But It is worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Great Taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

One of the most delicious restaurant in Mexico. The restaurant itsel has a very peculiar environment. The location itself has more than 90 years of being built. The service great.
The taste of the food is delicate, rich and creative. Desserts extraordinary!! Prices affordable $45/$50 USD per person.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Yucatan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Glad I have to stay in town a few extra days so I can go back to Rosetta!

Monday afternoon 3:30pm - high lunch hour in DF. The place is packed but I got lucky. Was seated immediately. Asked for the wine menu and ordered a Chilean red blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Carmenere, and Petit Verdot. Excellent!

I started with the beet salad, served with crunchy fresh greens, strawberries and a sweet vinaigrette. Amazing. The waiter almost lost his hand when he reached to pick up my salad plate. Yes, I'd finished the salad but I had to clean the plate with warm tears off the herb topped focaccia bread that was falling out of a basket on my table, accompanied by a dish of fruity extra virgin olive oil.

Another glass of wine, sparkling water and finally, I decided on the filet of cordero, medium rare.

The cordero arrived perfectly rare to medium rare served upon a heavenly red wine reduction sauce that was also drizzled over it and the roasted veggies, by the waiter at the table. The sauce was the perfect accomplice to this criminally extraordinary meal. Without a doubt, this maybe the best lamb I have ever eaten. I ate slowly to savor the meal. The wine was the perfect pairing so I ordered another glass to help with the gourmandization.

The waiter knew better than to remove the plate until I had polished it clean with the oil dipped focaccia.

After a short respite to finish my wine, I ordered dessert. Fresh herbs, drizzled with extra virgin olive oil and a dollop of Rosemary flavored ice cream. Beyond words. Pure ambrosia!

It wasn't inexpensive, but it was worth it. Happy birthday to me! I'm going to celebrate my birthday a few times this week!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome place but needs help with staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I came here today may 27th, im actually sitting in the restaurant. The food is amazing, flavours etc and so is the wine.

Service is fast and efficent however the waiters seem to be busy in the entrance of the restaurant forgetting the rest of the guests. Thats is my only nono for this place, they need to step it up, I ordered 2 glasses of wine and had to call the waiter 4 times for that and dessert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosetta also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rosetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.