We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosetta

Rosetta
Colima 166, Col. Roma Norte | Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
01 55 5533 7804
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosetta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #104 of 2,242 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Mexico DF
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I live in Mexico City, so beleive me I know the restaurants here. Rosetta should be ranked in the top 10 in the city, the food is amazing, the place is fun and cozy, and it is located in one of the nicest areas in Mexico. The only problem is that it is so famous that getting a reservation is complicated. But It is worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    58
    17
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Great Taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

One of the most delicious restaurant in Mexico. The restaurant itsel has a very peculiar environment. The location itself has more than 90 years of being built. The service great.
The taste of the food is delicate, rich and creative. Desserts extraordinary!! Prices affordable $45/$50 USD per person.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Yucatan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Glad I have to stay in town a few extra days so I can go back to Rosetta!

Monday afternoon 3:30pm - high lunch hour in DF. The place is packed but I got lucky. Was seated immediately. Asked for the wine menu and ordered a Chilean red blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Carmenere, and Petit Verdot. Excellent!

I started with the beet salad, served with crunchy fresh greens, strawberries and a sweet vinaigrette. Amazing. The waiter almost lost his hand when he reached to pick up my salad plate. Yes, I'd finished the salad but I had to clean the plate with warm tears off the herb topped focaccia bread that was falling out of a basket on my table, accompanied by a dish of fruity extra virgin olive oil.

Another glass of wine, sparkling water and finally, I decided on the filet of cordero, medium rare.

The cordero arrived perfectly rare to medium rare served upon a heavenly red wine reduction sauce that was also drizzled over it and the roasted veggies, by the waiter at the table. The sauce was the perfect accomplice to this criminally extraordinary meal. Without a doubt, this maybe the best lamb I have ever eaten. I ate slowly to savor the meal. The wine was the perfect pairing so I ordered another glass to help with the gourmandization.

The waiter knew better than to remove the plate until I had polished it clean with the oil dipped focaccia.

After a short respite to finish my wine, I ordered dessert. Fresh herbs, drizzled with extra virgin olive oil and a dollop of Rosemary flavored ice cream. Beyond words. Pure ambrosia!

It wasn't inexpensive, but it was worth it. Happy birthday to me! I'm going to celebrate my birthday a few times this week!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome place but needs help with staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I came here today may 27th, im actually sitting in the restaurant. The food is amazing, flavours etc and so is the wine.

Service is fast and efficent however the waiters seem to be busy in the entrance of the restaurant forgetting the rest of the guests. Thats is my only nono for this place, they need to step it up, I ordered 2 glasses of wine and had to call the waiter 4 times for that and dessert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“creative italian cuisine in beautiful Roma district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This restaurant has really a lot to offer:

First of all and most important the food is fresh, nicely prepared, tasty, and very creative. As starters you are served some home made parmesan-grissini and focaccia: delicious!
The chef (from our research she results to have travelled and worked a lot in Italy, and Europe in general) uses typical italian recipes and reinterprets them in a modern, creative and sophisticated way. We tried some pasta dishes and the minestrone - everything was wonderful. During the meal, the waiters offer freshly grated parmigiano reggiano cheese on top of your dish. Not only authentic, but also adding to the character of this place! An greatly appreciated detail!

Secondly, the service was highly attentive: several waiters available for a designated area in the restaurant. This allows great service and anticipation to your needs (e.g. water and bread is constantly refilled) The service is very friendly and professional. All staff is dressed in impeccable uniform with white shirt and black tie (even in the part of the kitchen that is visible from the restauran!!!!!!!!)

Last but not least the restaurant itself: A three storey art nouveau building decorated with plants, wooden floor, heavy marble / bronze and wooden tables, separate dining "rooms" allowing an intimate atmosphere, tables outside,......

Try this restaurant in Mexico City. You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosetta also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rosetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.