We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home of luchadores” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Mexico

Arena Mexico
Ave. granjas, Mexico City 02230, Mexico
(55) 5588-0266
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Arena Mexico like an insider
Top Rated
$46*
and up
Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and...
Ranked #52 of 401 things to do in Mexico City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Arena Coliseo features Mexican-style masked Lucha Libre wrestlers.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home of luchadores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

it is close to Balderas metro station. the shows are on Tuesday and Friday night only.
Cheapest ticket was 70 peso.
It is reall fun.
After show you can buy thousands luchdores merchandises

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    56
    14
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Crazy place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We wanted to try the "Luche libre" which is like American pro-wrestling. Our biggest problem was trying to communicate with the attendant at the ticket office near the main entrance. You can talk to him but he was no where in sight. Better study the website and know what kind of seats you want to ease the interface problem. The location is not the greatest neighborhood but we did not have any problem.

Mexicans seem to really like this show. Lots of yelling,booing and everyone having fun. It should be more fun coming in a group. Plenty of beer sellers!

Not being used to this, we got bored after 15-20 minutes. Many good-looking ladies as presenters and later, as wrestlers!

Overall, worth experiencing it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ridiculously fun!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went there on a Friday night to watch a Lucha Libre event. It was super entertaining. It was a rather large group of us, I believe it was a total of about 16. We're not from there and there were originally trying to charge us about 200 pesos per person for mid range seats. Luckily, we were with a couple friends that are from the city and they saved us from being jibbed - they went back up to the gentleman selling the tickets and told him it was outrageous and brought it down to 90 pesos per person, BIG difference. Lesson learned, always have someone that knows the city with you.

That incident is the only reason I giving this attraction 4 stars and not 5.

Other than that incident everyone was really friendly and it was an absolute blast!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“No México without Lucha Libre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Arena México is the place to see and enjoy one of the most popular and cherished mexican traditions, the Lucha Libre. Deeply rooted in the mexican culture, the luchadores are real superstars and superheroes for the mexican children and adults. The luchadores have starred movies and tv series. The plan is quite familiar, one can see families with kids since 5 or 6 years, fiancés in weekend plan. Outside the Arena there are a lot of stalls selling the most popular luchadores masks. The show includes at least five figths in triples or doubles, some female luchadoras that have becoming greatly popular in the last fortress of the most radical latino Machismo. Great experience, great show, full of enjoyment.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“A great night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

What a great way to spend the evening. We paid less than 50 pesos for seats that were about 90 feet away from the ring. The seats were very good and I would only suggest spending more if you are an exxxxtreme wrestling fan. The atmosphere was so fun. We saw a few office workers in suits with masks on like it was nothing. Families, friends, tons of gringos, they were all there.
The matches lasted about 2 hours and were filled with high quality light and sound effects. These events are often televised, and I believe they are done very well. The moves are quite amazing. They seem a bit more razzle dazzle than the moves I remember from when I was a kid watching the WWF in the states. I do not follow wrestling, but this is a very popular thing in Mexico. One could say that this is a cultural event in Mexico city. Perhaps pop culture is more appropriate. The popularity has waned in the years past, but it was such a fixture for many. Several matches are held weekly, here and at another venue closer to the center. So check them out for a little silly, old fashion fun.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arena Mexico also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Arena Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.