We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pics don't do this place justice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Victoria DF

Hostal Victoria DF
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Victoria DF to your Saves list
Hostal Victoria DF
Cerrada de Varsovia 11 | Colonia Juarez, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The pics don't do this place justice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Went in and asked to see a female dorm. The room I was shown was on the ground floor and... a hung sheet was pulled back to show me the bunk beds. Really??? Can't afford to purchase a door for the room? When I made a statement about there not being a door, the very, very uninterested employee said that the dorms upstairs had doors. Oh goodie! Of course he didn't bother to think that maybe I wanted to see one. I won't be back. I know that the experience would only go downhill from there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar R, Gerente at Hostal Victoria DF, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Google Translation
no se le mostro las habitaciones porque recivimos una queja de otro hostal sore esa persona que era agreciva y problematica grosera una persona despreciable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Df
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

C'est très jolie et le garçon est très sympa !!! C'est un lieu pour tout la famille! Definitely it's very comfortable and nice... People it's very kind and in my personal opinion I made new friends there, u can use the kitchen and all the time it's very clean and the restrooms are very clean also the rooms... U can see a lot of people and from different places.
I spend a great time there I'm planning to come back! U have to go to the hostal ! What r u waiting for?...

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

OK, let me preface this by saying that this is only the 2nd hostel I have ever stayed in, so take this review with a grain of salt!

I stayed for a total of 4 nights while the damage to my motorcycle was being assessed by my Mexican Insurance Company from a wreck the day before.

Hostal Victoria is located in the Zona Rosa District of Mexico City, which is a perfect area for anyone traveling through the City. You're within a short walk from any of the following, great restaurants, bars, affluent shopping mall, Zoo, Museum of Contemporary Art, Museum of National History, and the Angel of Independence, and if you can't get the Starbucks monkey off your back, there are 7 within striking distance, 3 are lass than a 5 minute walk from the hostel. Also, let me note that the Zoo and Museums are FREE.

Finding Hostal Victoria.....it was tricky, even for my seasoned taxi driver. It is one block south of Reforma, on Varsovious, tucked away in a dead end alley secured by a large green security gate!

At $400 pesos / night for a private room and a shared bath I thought it was fairly pricey, but hey, I had two porn channels, a variety of Mexican channels, and re-runs of CSI-Miami on the 13 inch TV. The room itself was spartan to say the least the beds were clad in stained, albeit washed sheets, and nasty carpet! Oh, did I mention the pillows...think of wet cardboard, mashed up, and thrown into a Dora the Explorer pillow case, but at least I had two to choose from!

There was no shared kitchen, only a small refrigerator off of the office, There was no dining area were everyone could congregate...that I found at least. The bathroom was alright but the agua caliente was more like agua luke-warm!

The overall vibe of the place....I didn't find any! No one went out of their way to say hello, but then again, neither did I. I was the only english speaker (only speak a little spanish) that I heard. Each of the each mornings I went out there seemed to be a group of people (not hostel guests), maybe a church group or similar that wold meet in the lobby for several hours, I'm not sure of the purpose of this, but it has no bearing on my review.

All in all, the location is wonderful, but if you're looking to interaction with others you may want to look elsewhere, and if quality sleep is of any importance, remember, bring your own pillow!

Room Tip: Ask to see it before you buy it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in a private room for one night - we were supposed to stay two nights but we cancelled the second one. The hostel is very dirty - our room didn't look like it had been properly cleaned after the last use, the kitchen wasn't very clean but the bathroom in particular was disgusting - and one of the two bathrooms was out of use, so from what I could gather all guests were using the same one. Other guests were noisy including late at night and the hostel staff did not seem to be particularly engaged with ensuring respectful behaviour. Also guests were smoking inside in the communal areas. For the same money there are many better places to stay in Mexico City including another hostel very nearby.

Room Tip: Apparently they have another building nearby to the main one, perhaps it is cleaner there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Victoria DF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Victoria DF

Address: Cerrada de Varsovia 11 | Colonia Juarez, Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Victoria DF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Victoria DF Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Victoria DF, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.