We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic with lots of Mexican folklore.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda del Recuerdo

La Fonda del Recuerdo
Bahia de Las Palmas #37, Mexico City 11300, Mexico
+52 55 9112 7476
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 1,925 Restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic with lots of Mexican folklore.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I have been in many countries and it is always hard to find the perfect mix between good food , value and some local folklore.
This is the perfect spot if you are looking for authentic Mexican food. They have live groups playing all day long. Food plates are huge and very taste. Been there at least 5 times and always ready to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Mexican food and extremely laud music :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was invited by Mexican friend who recommended this restaurant as very good Mexican place and it was indeed by all means. Great food, great drinks, great service (as long as you speak Spanish). There are at least 4 bands of mariachi playing different instruments from various part of Mexico. The food is from west-south part of Mexico, great stuffed green peppers wrapped in plantains. I have "hastecan plater" the selection of food from the menu. Everything was delicious and fresh. Did no managed to finish my meal. In total for 3 guys with drink each and desert we paid around $90.
I recommend that place ! My colleague father proposed to his mother 45 years ago in that place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A good Mexican restaurant/cantina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great mexican fare! Good service. GREAT MARIACHIS !
Close to Chapultepec and Reforma Hotels. I have been coming here for many years... still one of my favorites.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First choice if you´re in the mood for "Toritos"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great service and excellent food.
The dishes are varied and very well served. The menu has an option for every budget but the star of this restaurant are the "Toritos".
A tipical drink from the state of Veracruz wich consists of a fresh fruit mixed with alcohol. You can choose from all kinds of flavors like lemon, pineapple, guanabana, peanut and even cajeta (caramel flavored goat milk candy).
Beware of how many toritos you order or you might not be able to make it out the door! If you have a car please bring an assigned driver.
Also the entertainment is great! All you can expect from a mexican style restaurant.
This restaurant has been around for a long time and it´s a well passed tradition in my family where my parents used to go way back when it wasn´t as fancy as it is now.
A must try in your trip to Mexico City!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Finding a great mexican restaurant in Mexico City is no easy task. This restaurant has been around for a long time with little change in the quality of the food. It is pure mexican food from all over Mexico. If you only have time for lunch or dinner, then try something with mole. It is usually served with turkey and combines chocolate and hot spices. An odd combination but it works. The staff is great and the prices are really good. For dessert have the cafe de olla with something sweet. A great way to end a fantastic meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda del Recuerdo also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Fonda del Recuerdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda del Recuerdo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.