We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless you are devoted” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica Lady of Guadalupe and Teotihuacan

Basilica Lady of Guadalupe and Teotihuacan
Mexico City, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 273 Attractions in Mexico City
Type: Tours, Cultural
Attraction details
pescara
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Avoid unless you are devoted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The image of the madonna which attracts so many pilgrims from all over the world might be worth a visit only if you are around / but I would strongly discourage a visit to the basilica of guadalupe all in all simply because there is not much to see / the new basilica is mostly for the devout who is there to pray, while the old basilica has only an interesting facade because inside it is very plain. There is a better way to spend your time sightseeing, not here

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    117
    42
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Go for Teotihuacan, Skip the Churches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My personal opinion is that if you aren't religious or if you've been to Europe, skip the churches, as they're pretty much what you've already seen (unless you're going for spiritual reasons... Then by all means, go). For people who want to see the basilica, I wouldn't recommend going on a Saturday since that seems to be the day religious celebrations occur and they will likely be very crowded, not to mention in the middle of a service wherever you want to go. It's like when you go to Vietnam and visit a thousand tombs and that gets pretty blah... Seen one and seen them all. It gets exhausting and monotonous especially if it's hot out.

Teotihuacan on the other hand is quite fascinating, photogenic, and you could spend all day there, climbing pyramids, exploring ruins, and walking from one pyramid to the other. We had a wonderful time! Beware: the steps to the pyramids are very steep and there is little to save you if you're about to fall either down the stairs or off the side of the pyramid. Climb at your own risk!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Not Religious But Spiritually Uplifting Nonetheless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We only visited because our private tour guide recommended it, and we're glad we stopped by. Raised Catholic, I grew up hearing about the Lady of Guadalupe. What was most interesting, however, was learning about the connection between the Lady and the belief system of the indigenous people--which is information I had never known before. Fascinating!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you are a catholic or just interested in learning a little more about the religion and all its value, this a great place to visit. It's a bit crowded but a nice experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It is mostly part of a day's tour. A good tour guide will tell you the whole story. The story is wonderful!! I would expect to spend 1.5 hours there with a camera. I do not recall any food or bathrooms nearby. A visit to remember -

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica Lady of Guadalupe and Teotihuacan also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
San Juan Teotihuacan, Estado de Mexico
 

Been to Basilica Lady of Guadalupe and Teotihuacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica Lady of Guadalupe and Teotihuacan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.