We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Amigo Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Amigo Suites to your Saves list
Hostel Amigo Suites
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Luis Gonzalez Obregon 14 | Col. Centro Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06010, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hostel was great, the buffet breakfast and dinner were always amazing and varied every day! The atmosphere was very chilled, not very party, but you can definitely meet people. The rooms weren't great, no windows, prison mattresses, hundreds of mosquitoes, super hot, but you can get a fan. Very clean, WiFi only really on the roof area or the 3rd floor. Plugs only by the door of the room and the lockers were really small. I would stay here again though as the location and food were very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    53
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
55
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here in May for a week, in a private apartment with free breakfast (decent), free dinner (no frills, but vegetarian-friendly), and free common area wifi. Booked through AmEx travel, it was under $30/day! The location is unbeatable--4 blocks from the Zocalo, and short walking distance to everything else except Chapultepec. Luckily the metro is also nearby, so "problem" solved! Shout out to Ivan and Jasmine for being particularly awesome.
Note: this IS a hostel, so expect the usual quirks and imperfections. However, you cannot beat the location and price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I had a private double room and it was comfy, good size, nice private bathroom, tv, safe, clean. Staff were all really friendly and helpfull, especially Victor (he made me write that, but it's still true). Breakfast was included and was good.
Unfortunately I only had one day in Mexico City but the hostel looked like it offered so many different day tours. I wish I could have done one (or ten).
Located a couple of blocks from the Zocalo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Maybe a new rubric for grading hotels should be how well they treat you when you are (or your girlfriend is) sick and grumpy. We arrived late, but the desk clerk was quick and friendly, understanding our rush to our room (Thanks a lot, Montezuma!) We ended up having to stay several days as my girlfriend recuperated, and each day the staff were very, very friendly and accomodating despite our haggard grumpiness. Even the custodian was full of sweetly encouraging advice about nearby pharmacies and nearby activities to keep my occupied while I wasn't playing nurse.
While breakfast and dinner (BOTH included in the room rate) were not spectacular, they were decent and the rooftop view is great. There are three computers available to guests, and they all worked 90% of the time. There is even a vending machine for drinks and condoms.
Location is great--just a few blocks from El Zocalo, and close to several great restaurants.

Room Tip: Many rooms have street-facing windows and very small balconies. Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My bf and I stayed here for three nights. Great location, close to city centre! Couldn't believe it when they said breakfast and dinner included in the price (surely thought I'd would be rubbish if so) but surely enough it was true and not a complaint whatsoever! The food was great and fulfilling! The staff were all very helpful and
friendly. Victor in particular went out of his way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and had a very friendly and humorous mannerism! Only down fall was the location of our room, very noisy street and we were located on the first level facing the road! Staff handed out ear plugs which helped! But I would recommend asking to be placed facing the courtyard or a higher level! Many thanks hostel amigo suites!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very cool hostel and also hostel amigo very good vibes and great staff and parties. If you need to organise anything regarding flights and busses the travel agent Aida will sort you out no worries....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Right in the centre of mexico city with most things in walking distance.
Room had its own toilet and shower along with a TV.
Included dinner was really good and the bar had a good range of drinks and nice margaritas.
Front desk staff were helpful and spoke good english.
Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Private room was quiet and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Amigo Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Amigo Suites

Address: Luis Gonzalez Obregon 14 | Col. Centro Del. Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06010, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostel Amigo Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Services included: Breakfast Buffet, Dinnet Buffet, Internet, Wifi, 2 City Tours. All rooms ensuited and cable TV in all Private Rooms.Hostel Amigo Suites, sister hostel to the original and famous Hostel Amigo opens its doors in 2011 with the best facilities in Mexico City. The place was designed with private rooms and small dormitories, all with private bathroom inside the room. They were planned with travelers like you in mind, so that you can find the comfort and privacy you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Amigo Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Amigo Suites Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Amigo Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.