We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dulcinea Cocina Urbana

Dulcinea Cocina Urbana
Oscar Wilde 29 | Corner Presidente Masaryk - Polanco, Mexico City, Mexico
5552808909
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dulcinea Cocina Urbana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #121 of 1,808 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $320 - $380
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was visiting Polanco and saw this cute place on the main street where all the nice restaurants are located. I went there alone, the place was full but they kindly gave me a nice table. I ordered the azteca soup and the shrimp tacos. both dishes were really good and service was excellent. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Mezcal Tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had late dinner reservation in an adjacent restaurant, so met up with friends for drinks. I wanted to taste local drinks, the servers brought out many different mezcal, set up an impromptu mezcal tasting, served it "bandera" style.

Also paired it with different salts.

Chased it down with local Mexican craft beer, dark lager.

Did not eat here.

Nice and quiet, quaint, with outdoor seating and was very impressed with server that on a whim he set up mezcal tasting, was knowledgeable about menu and different regions and food styles of Mexico.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“fabulous little local place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went there last night for dinner as I'm in Mexico City again for a work trip. A really nice change from the usual business restaurants I end up going to with colleagues. It's quite small and charming. The food is a mix of a few mexicanized international dishes and local dishes with a bit of a twist on them. The artichoke is well worth a try, and their carrot cake was fantastic. My pasta with a zucchini flower was oversauced but a minor complaint as it tasted great. The staff was really helpful when I needed assistance translating bits of the menu and offering suggestions.

On the whole if you want an experience with good food, a bit of charm and a place where you could either meet friends and have a night out or just bring your book and get a away from things with a good meal I can't recommend this place enough

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“amazing food and different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

very nice ambiance.
the chef came to see us and explained everything on the menu
the octopus was my favorite and was just to die for !

excellent new Mexican cuisine .. with a mixture of traditional and new flavors !
the desert, crepes with dulce de leche was phenomenal ! probably one OF THE BEST i've had .. ever

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Neighbourhood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My daughter works just a block away, so when we meet for lunch, we tend to chose this great little restaurant! They always have a selection of delicious "aguas frescos" and the dishes are real home-cooked-meals - we love it!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dulcinea Cocina Urbana also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dulcinea Cocina Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dulcinea Cocina Urbana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.