We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right restaurant for a Saturday night out in Mexico City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas

Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas
Anatole France 100 | Col. Polanco, Mexico City, Mexico
55 3300-3999
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,999 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $500 - $500
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Presidente Masarik y Emilio Castelar
Whistler, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The right restaurant for a Saturday night out in Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Another fantastic recommendation by our Concierge. Last minute booking for 11 people on a Saturday night. I guess it pays to stay at good hotels. We were expected and got a fantastic table inside, overlooking the restaurant and the busy crowed on a Saturday night. We were looking for something more fancy and got exactly what we asked for. Mexican cuisine, fancy and colorful with beautiful presentations and amazing flavors. The service was great, even that it is never as easy as travelling without children but everybody did a fantastic job. The food, specially prepared for our kids was delicious. Our four year old son loved the grilled Snapper with rice. Cocktails, Mezcal including worm and wine list was great and showed us a different side of how you can prepare Mexican food fancy. The food really varies from every region of Mexico and gives you a good way of trying it. Finding the typical food delicious but sometimes rather heavy, here the flavors were there, upgraded with higher products but therefore not as heavy as you would find it in other restaurants. We had three courses and left with an amazing feeling. The interior is beautiful and again, if Mexico wouldn’t have so many fantastic restaurants to offer, we would have been here more often.
A restaurant we definitely will recommend to our friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    80
    42
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
American in Bogota
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Loads of colour (food & decor) but not our best meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

When we arrived (with our two children for early dinner) we were initially seated outside on the smoking patio in the rain, which I objected to and they finally moved our table indoors. Service after that was excellent - eager to please and very kind with our too tired children. Their food was delicious. Our food was good but not amazing, we had better meals in our 5 days in Mexico City (some more expensive and some less expensive). The unique part of this experience is that basically everything is colored wild colors (think psycodelic colored tortillas). But the place was packed and is obviously very popular with locals.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“This is a must in Mexico DF..Passion is a word to describe it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very exciting restaurant. From the different Aguas or Juices, to the Bread to the appetizers and main courses, and also the end..with unforgettable dessert experiences.
Its hard to describe the colors of every dish, the flavor, and the sense in your mouth...Service could be improved specially in the serving tempos, but in general great attitude from staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Was disappointed by the food and service. First off, the food was not delicious (just decent) but for those prices in mexico I could have eaten 10x at more tasty food stands. Quesadilla was okay, ant larvae was bland, pork medallion was a great portion but again bland and nothing special. As for the service, it was unprofessional for this type of supposed fine dining. There was our main waiter who took our order and never to be seen again rest of the night ( no check ups, nothing). And what really bothered me was they constantly tried to clear our food and cocktails before I was done with it (mind you the restaurant was only at about 30% capacity from what I could see so I didn't understand the rush). When I did finish my entree they took away my half glass full margarita as well, I noticed it missing too late and was quite disappointed because I was saving some of it for dessert. They also had a tendency to lean\reach over and across the table over plated food. Overall this place is without a doubt overrated and the service is poor. Don't go, its not worth your time or money here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“EXCELENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The service is great!!! and the food is magnificent!!! They think of every single detail!!! Is definitely a MUST-GO while in Mexico city. The Chef takes all kinds of regular mexican meals to our contemporary and modern days and life style. I should warn you, if you are a smoker, reserve the terrace in advance since is always full!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.