We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas

Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas
Anatole France 100 | Col. Polanco, Mexico City, Mexico
55 3300-3999
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 2,195 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $500 - $500
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Presidente Masarik y Emilio Castelar
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Dulce Patria may be one of the best restaurants in the world! Located in charming Polanco, the Dulce Patria proved to be everything it was claimed to be and more. The décor is stunning in its simplicity. The bar menu is stunning its innovative drinks. The food stunning in the awesome transformation of traditional Mexican dishes into works of gastronomic and visual art. Every dish we tried was fantastic. They were very simple but awesome in presentation and tasted fantastic. I had esquites, a simple corn salad, that knocked me out! My wife had a squash blossom soup dressed in flowers that was to die for. The main dishes of ranch style steak and bean tamal, was superb and the grilled pork with grilled vegetables the most succulent ever!

I love Mexican food, and Dulce Patria was a sweet delight!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    102
    50
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Choice for a Special Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Dulce Patria is my first choice for a special dinner in Mexico City. Everything I have tried is delicious and the presentation is absolutely beautiful. The food is high-end Mexican.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Just a bit too much Polanco...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have been to Dulce Patria a handful of times, but I am still not quite sure what I think about the place. The whole concept is well thought through and executed: "Traditional" Mexican food presented in a modern and imaginative way (without reinventing/deconstructing it as Pujol and the like - rather just "updating" it). I find this to be an appealing idea, with great potential. Unfortunately I also find that the whole posh Polanco setting (and corresponding prices) detracts somewhat from the experience. This is food full of of flavor, playfulness, passion and spice, served in an environment were suit-clad men are doing business and where the "gente nice" go to see and been seen.

If the place was half as fun as the food, I would come here weekly.

Also:
+ Good selection of mezcal and Mexican microbrews
- The menu could need a bit more rotation

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good modern Mexican cuisine - Exelent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The attention received from the staff was exelent without being overbearing.

Exelent cocktail great combination of tequilas with traditional mixes.

The appetizer wa exelent with several new flavors a and spice combinations.

The main dish I had tuna which came to the table relatively cold. Overall the food had a great flavor.

The entree did take a little to long to arrive to our table when compared to the time it took to get to some tables close by.

Portions could be a little bigger. So if you are hungry order three courses plus desert.

The restaurant is a little on the noisy side and they could work a little on the acustics.

Big big downside for me is that the smoking areas door was left open most of the time and the smell of cigarets was very agravating.



    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
981 reviews 981 reviews
786 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
483 helpful votes 483 helpful votes
“Outstanding place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Have been there with local friends: great Mexican restaurant, somewhere from the line of modern cuisine, both in terms of presentation and preparation, all being rather light, very tasty and presented with a lot of style. We had a mix of delicious traditional starters, revisited by the chef, and then some mains (my tuna steak was great, raw and melting just as it should be while sea bass ceviche is clearly very close to the top of the list of best ceviche I ever had. Judging by the crowd, the place is rather trendy and, given the menu, clearly worth a visit !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dulce Patria en Las Alcobas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.