We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep coming back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La casa de Tono Zona Rosa

La casa de Tono Zona Rosa
Londres 144 | Zona Rosa, Mexico City, Mexico
5386-1126
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 2,353 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I keep coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Regardless of when I get in or what part of the city I'm staying in, this is my first meal when I arrive in D.F. The pozole is great, especially on a chilly evening, but the flautas are my favorite. I literally find myself sitting at my desk drifting off thinking about their flautas on slow days at work. The service is fine - not especially friendly but not unfriendly, and quite efficient. The decor is much like you would expect at a truck stop off a U.S. highway, but the crowd there is quite diverse and lively; the last time I was there the neighboring tables were occupied with a couple with their two small kids, a small group of teenagers, and large group of late-20s/early-30s guys in expensive suits, and two guys seemingly on a date. Despite what a previous reviewer said, they DO take credit cards, and don't seem put off when I pay for the ridiculously low cost of a meal with credit card.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    81
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hooked on Pozole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The pozole here will have you hooked for life. The restaurant is very clean and the service is fast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was in Mexico city for my birthday in mark came across this place by looking it up. Pozolo us great quesadillas are amazing too.!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is essentially a Mexican fast food place. The menu is printed on the table. I did not know most of the items beside the quesadillas so I had to ask for a description of many items. There are many choices of types of foods with then options of fillings. I think that every item is fried, including the quesadillas.
The place is very clean, we had a view on the kitchen from our table and everything was very sanitary. The kids loved their food too. La Casa de Tono has a great value for Zona Rosa and service is outstanding.
Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone in search of authentic Mexican food amongst Mexican customers. But please be aware that this is not a fancy restaurant but rather a fast food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited this restaurant after seeing good reviews on TA. The entrance was a little sketchy with security guards but the food was fantastico! Atmosphere is 'fast food' but don't let that deter you. Music was not Mexican which was a disappointment. Try the flan for dessert - yummy! Excellent value for money in the Zona Rosa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La casa de Tono Zona Rosa also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to La casa de Tono Zona Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La casa de Tono Zona Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.